VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Booting problem  (Read 1540 times)

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Booting problem
« on: November 19, 2009, 06:55:45 am »

I have a 40 GB IDE drive for Windows.
Another SATA drive with 2 partitons for linux.
In sda6 I have Vector Linux with lilo as boot manager written to MBR.
Installed sidux with grub on the root partition of sda5.
I could not boot sidux with lilo. I ran liloconfig VASM in Vector Linux unsuccessfully.
Lilo needs just three parameters 1. location of image file 2. location of root file system and 3.label.
I don't find any vmlinuz file in /boot directory of sidux.

I don't know why lilo fails to detect Sidux in liloconfig / VASM.
Please help.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3280
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 07:01:50 am »

The kernel location varies from one distro to the other.
Some will but it in /boot and symlink to it from /
Others will put a bunch of them in /boot but keep the latest versions in / or link to the latest in /

With that said, you need to find the sidux vmlinuz and possibly initrd.
If you can't find them in your /dev/sda5/boot, you may need to help lilo by copying them there or linking to them there.

The lilo config should work after that.

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 07:14:17 am »

The sidux /boot directory contains the following.

vmlinuz-2.6.31-6.slh.1-sidux-686
initrd.img-2.6.31-6.slh.1-sidux-686

But lilo doesn't work with this vmlinuz file.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3280
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2009, 07:19:20 am »

Ok
I think lilo has a problem with long file names
You might try creating links to these files in the same directory

ln - s vmlinuz-2.6.31-6.slh.1-sidux-686 vmlinuz
ln - s initrd.img-2.6.31-6.slh.1-sidux-686 initrd

give lilo the -v flag to see a more detailed output

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 04:09:09 am »

Wow! That settled the booting issue but now I got a new problem.

After the initial running of screen I get the error "Unable to open initial console". Pressing ctrl+Alt+F1-12 has no effect.
Is this Sidux specific ?
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3280
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2009, 04:36:25 am »

No. That could mean that you are missing something in the lilo configuration. Did you specify an initrd?
A good place to look for a solution would be a lilo config file from sidux.

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2009, 04:39:31 am »

Yeah . I have created symlinks for vmlinuz as well as initrd.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3280
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2009, 04:46:59 am »

Make sure you specified the correct root value and that the filesystem is ok in that partition.
See this link for more http://kerneltrap.org/node/2205

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2009, 05:02:53 am »

That looks more complicated for me.
May I install grub of Sidux in MBR and use it to boot Vector?
In that case what are the conguration lines to be entered in grub's menu.lst file ?
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3280
Re: Booting problem
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2009, 05:43:57 am »

I dont know grub really. I know grub2 automagically generates the menu.
Which vectorlinux did you install?

If you installed the SOHO beta, you have grub2 in there, this would be your best option. Otherwise, you can install grub in vectorlinux by issuing
Code: [Select]
slapt-get -i grubYou can also run grubconfig to generate the menu.