VectorLinux
November 27, 2014, 10:34:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: using Gslapt to install Google Chrome  (Read 4668 times)
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2009, 08:42:22 am »

 When I set the permissions to execute the Google .rpm file I just checked "owner," and not group or other users.  Does Chrome want permission to execute more than the state of Texas?  
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2009, 09:04:42 am »

 For what it's worth:
Update Menu worked, and I have the icon. When I run Chrome, it doesn't do anything, as before. But when I open it from root and leave Chrome open, and then exit out of root, Chrome keeps on web searching as long as I don't close it. 
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #17 on: December 27, 2009, 02:51:27 pm »

OK, had a chance to look at this again during lunch.  I think I have the solution. As root type this in the terminal.
chmod 777 /dev/shm/

Then try launching Google Chrome again as a normal user.
Ken
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #18 on: December 27, 2009, 03:11:46 pm »

By golly I think you've got it! Did as you said, exited root, and started Chrome-everything worked. Even went to Youtube and did a quick pass to verify that audio and video were both working.
 Thanks for all the finagling. Hate to know how much coffee this took.
 If I knew how to mark this as solved, I would.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 27, 2009, 05:24:54 pm »

Great stuff!  I got a question for you.  What install method was your VL-Light? Was it the live-version install or was it the text install from the install cd.?  My version is a live-version install, and I was just wondering if this problem we had was particular to the live version install or was a problem to both the live and text installs of light.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
RonB
Vectorite
***
Posts: 120


« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2010, 07:05:26 pm »

Just so those who come here will know, if you're using VectorLinux Standard 6 and follow the tutorial, it works beautifully. I just installed Chrome without issue. The problem (detailed in the thread) is VL Light issue, not a VL Standard issue.

Thanks to everyone, BTW. I can't run Chrome on CentOS 5.4 and this is my lightweight "backup" machine, so wanted to try it here. It's fast, but so is VectorLinux, so I'm not sure where the bulk of the speed increase comes from.

Now to take a look at all the other stuff on OpenSourceBistro.
Logged

RonB
Registered Linux User #498581
Vector Linux Deluxe 6.0 -- Optiplex GX270
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #21 on: January 02, 2010, 07:44:26 pm »

Just so those who come here will know, if you're using VectorLinux Standard 6 and follow the tutorial, it works beautifully. I just installed Chrome without issue. The problem (detailed in the thread) is VL Light issue, not a VL Standard issue.

Thanks to everyone, BTW. I can't run Chrome on CentOS 5.4 and this is my lightweight "backup" machine, so wanted to try it here. It's fast, but so is VectorLinux, so I'm not sure where the bulk of the speed increase comes from.

Now to take a look at all the other stuff on OpenSourceBistro.

There is a tut for vl-light now as well.  Thanks to what I learned helping out on this thread.
Google Chrome on VL-light
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2010, 05:10:59 pm »

I can verify the install goes off without a hitch on a VL standard install. (I'm not even sure why I put that on this old machine but glad I did so far....now I have one question.  I use the National Weather Service Radar on occasion and the (I guess it's java) won't show the loop. 
Quote
  This is one I'd like to get to.  FWIW it works on sea monkey so I must have the right java stuff on the machine.  Any Ideas??
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2010, 07:08:05 pm »

Did a little searching and found this tidbit...
http://java.com/en/download/faq/chrome.xml
Apparently Google Chrome requires you to upgrade Java to something greater version 6 update 12.

Here is how you can update your java.
Updating your Java.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2010, 08:44:05 pm »

OK, I tested the above theory, and it's a no go.
Not sure what the problem is but, I'll dig a little more.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2010, 08:46:23 pm »

Ok got java updated alright, however the plugin isn't in Chrome now.  I went to the javatester site first and got no result on chrome, however on Opera and Seamonkey got the new version listed.  I'm looking at my "about:plugins" now on Chrome and I think there's supposed to be a libjavaplugin_oji.so and under that there's nothing listed for the plugin.  I installed Java the second way in your tuturial where I did the deletion of the folders then the command line ln -s part.  According to my other browsers it's there but not in Chrome.  I can't thank you enough for all the tutorials you put up.  anyway.............any ideas??

At sea monkey I have the same file name and under it it says "Java (TM) Plug-in 1.6.0.17 then the usual mime type box with all the various stuff listed.  I did reboot the system if that matters.  

OOPS posted while you did.  Maybe something I put up will help.  Again Millions of thanks.......
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #26 on: January 10, 2010, 09:54:38 pm »

ok thought I'd better let you know, i did "rm java" (don't ask)....anyway I'm gonna wait till i hear from you I think.  In retrospect I probably should have waited anyway just got alittle key happy this late.  (ran out of coffee).  Standing by................
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #27 on: January 10, 2010, 10:25:01 pm »

ok thought I'd better let you know, i did "rm java" (don't ask)....anyway I'm gonna wait till i hear from you I think.  In retrospect I probably should have waited anyway just got alittle key happy this late.  (ran out of coffee).  Standing by................

Ok well I redid the symbolic command but now there's nothing in any of the browsers
Quote
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 2010-01-11 00:06 java -> jre1.6.0_17/
is the return on ls -l java now.....Guess I'd better stop now before re-install is imminent Shocked
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #28 on: January 11, 2010, 08:04:21 am »

OK.....Let me sumarize a bit.  I have it working.  I thought I was deleting the symbolic link when I did "rm java" which removed Java from all my browsers.  I reinstalled the original version of java from Gslapt.  I then had it back in all the browsers a the older _6 version.  I did the "copy and paste" thing to install the new _17 version of Java rather than the second one on the turorial and presto I now have the newer version of Java in all browsers again.  (copy the new to the old folder and rename the folder to _17)

I believe for whatever the reason when I did the symlink in the second example may have caused the problem.  (although I have no idea why).  At any rate.  Albeit slow now Google chrome is working with Java now. 

Thanks again for the GREAT tutorials on the installation of Google chrome and Java.  It's all working again. 


Edit:  I'm wondering if I'd have had Java updated first then installed Chrome if this might have worked right off the bat???  I don't know. 
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 08:35:07 am by Deach » Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!