VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 07:30:30 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running e2fsck on a partition in use  (Read 1006 times)
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« on: January 11, 2010, 04:32:41 pm »

Hi again. I'm in Vector 6.0 Light at the moment and have had a couple of file system errors to sort out. When I try to unmount the root partition to apply e2fsck though, I get the message "umount :  /: device is busy", which means I can't take things any further.

I've always solved this in the past by keeping two different Vector distros on the drive at once so that I can fsck each one's file system from the other, but this takes up a lot of space. Is there a better way?

Thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic .
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 04:49:59 pm »

You could boot up the computer with a live cd which by default doesn't mount your root partition. You could then run fsck from there.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 02:00:21 am »

Thanks for replying.

Tried that, but both slax and damn small linux do mount partitions on your hard drive by default. The one which doesn't (puppy) has a slower implementation of fsck than Vector does, so it takes an age to sort it out.

I think your advice is probably along the right lines though.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2010, 03:20:43 am »

On the Light Live boot menu you can press tab, then append "nohd" to the boot options, or you can unmount manually after start.

Or try this: http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-force-fsck-on-the-next-reboot-or-boot-sequence/
Logged
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2010, 05:42:04 am »

Thanks, I'll try at least one of those; I've got the Vector 5.9 Live CD around somewhere.

Cheers,

CP .
Logged
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2010, 10:45:02 am »

A quick update -Vector Live works (booting up into the command line and then tabbing and adding the "nohd" option). I may try the other option soon.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!