VectorLinux
July 21, 2014, 11:00:07 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6.0 Deluxe CD2 fails  (Read 2180 times)
Stevo
Member
*
Posts: 19


WWW
« on: January 07, 2010, 05:11:03 pm »

I've tried many different command lines but CD 2 will just not load into Gslapt.

I've tried:
file:///media/cdrom0/packages/
file:///media/cdrom/packages/
file:///media/vectordlxcd2/packages/
file:///media/vectordlxcd20/packages/
and a bunch of others.

It seems like Gslapt will just not even read or attempt to read from the cdrom.

The error message says: "The package source failed or is not available."

When I go to file manager, all the folders and files are on the CD as one would expect.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 07, 2010, 06:11:24 pm by Stevo » Logged
Stevo
Member
*
Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2010, 09:02:13 pm »

I checked the md5 checksum on the iso file download and it confirms it is all good there.

surely the problem must be with the commandline syntax.

Should the CD be unmounted when it is being run in Gslapt?
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 08:16:51 am »

I think the cdrom should be mounted. In Gslapt, use whatever path you use to access the content of the cd starting from the root directory. Maybe something like /mnt/cdrom
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Stevo
Member
*
Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 04:38:10 am »

/mnt/cdrom....I've tried that and it doesn't work.

The CD is working properly, but does it need to be given admin access or something??

This is weird, I've tried so many combinations and I can't get the CD to read from Gslapt.
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2010, 06:05:07 am »

Can you browse to the cd in your file manager and look at the packages that way? If you can do this, you cd is mounted and you can try using Gslapt again.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2010, 06:08:13 pm »

I don't know if this will help and I don't remember if it worked with Gslapt when I installed VL6 Standard Deluxe many months ago. But this is what I found in my /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file:
#DISABLED=file:///media/cdrom0/packages/
#DISABLED=file:///mnt/cdrom/packages/

My guess is that you'd change that to
SOURCE=file:///media/cdrom0/packages

Put your CD in the drive and mount it. See if you get a directory in /media/cdrom0. If it automounts to /mnt/cdrom, unmount it as root and mount it at /media/cdrom0. Then run Gslapt and see if this source is listed in Edit menu, Preferences, Sources. Make sure it is checked. You have to run Update in Gslapt. If this doesn't work, try again with the CD in the drive but unmounted.

If no luck, do the same steps again but this time make the change in /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc to SOURCE=file:///mnt/cdrom/packages

Put a # in front of SOURCE=file:///media/cdrom0/packages to comment it out so it won't appear in the Sources list in Gslapt. run Gslapt as above, Update, and see if you have any luck this time.

I don't know enough about this to know whether my suggestions will do any good. I do remember that I had a hard time getting the right syntax for adding the CD to the Sources list so that it actually worked.

Let us know if either of these helps you out.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Stevo
Member
*
Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2010, 02:52:22 pm »

I don't seem to be getting any closer to a remedy on this one.

It's pretty frustrating that I got the Deluxe version and I can't even use it.......
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2010, 04:11:30 pm »

Can you browse the cd and see the packages as Daniel asked earlier?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Stevo
Member
*
Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2010, 06:27:45 pm »

Yes, I can browse all the packages on the CD, I've burnt a few ISO's and so I did that properly.

The files and packages are all there on the CD.  Huh Huh

Thanks
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!