Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: backup from live CD  (Read 1618 times)

aduplat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
backup from live CD
« on: January 08, 2010, 08:19:15 am »
Hello:

I made a mess trying to 'improve' my system (6.0) and right now I can't login. There is a new window that says: Welcome to Vector.Linux.net... or something like that. I can write my user name but nothing happens when I write my password or the root password.
I don't have any other option (terminal as a root, gnome, etc).

So my question is? Is it possible to do a backup from the Vector Linux Live CD?
I am asking because when I go to home... I can't find my old documents and I would like to do a backup to re-install Vector Linux.

Thanks,




stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 08:43:15 am »
If I'm guessing right you are not in any real trouble.  You've just installed something that pulled in kdebase which in turn pulled in the kdm display manager.  The kdm display manager launches xfce slightly differently than the GDM you had before. You just have to reselect xfce from the menu.
At the log in screen go to menu --> session type--> XFce 4
Then type in your user name an password.
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 08:46:04 am »
If you don't want kdm as your display manager, follow this tut.
Help,kdm hijacked my display manager.
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

aduplat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 09:01:21 am »
The problem is that I don't have the "menu" option.

I see this:

Welcome to Vector.Linux.net

Login:_______________
Pasword: ____________


And that's it.


stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2010, 09:54:54 am »
Well that's probably not the kdm then.  Were you making any changes to the GDM setting, before this occured?
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

aduplat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2010, 09:59:20 am »
"Were you making any changes to the GDM setting, before this occured?"

I did not change the GDM setting. What I did was to remove a bunch of gnome packages and Nautilus.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2010, 10:16:06 am by aduplat »

Fragadelic

  • Guest
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2010, 10:28:37 am »
gdm may have been removed.

Drop to a cli - CTRL-ALT-F1

From there do a "ps axf | grep dm" and see what display manager is there.

aduplat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2010, 10:49:52 am »
After Ctr + Alt + F1, Vector freezed.


Fragadelic

  • Guest
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2010, 10:57:28 am »
Did you reboot after making the previous changes with the packages?

I would reboot and go into normal cli mode so you can do some checking.

CTRL-ALT-F1 should have dropped you to a cli window.  You can also try CTRL-ALT-F2, CTRL-ALT-F3, etc.


aduplat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: backup from live CD
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2010, 01:26:30 pm »
Solved.

I decide to use Vector Live CD to find my files. I found my home folder in mnt. I was confused because in Ubuntu this step is different.
I made a backup and then reinstall everything. Right now, everything works well.