VectorLinux
August 31, 2014, 11:25:54 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cannot login. "incorrect username or password"  (Read 13532 times)
Bibby
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #30 on: January 05, 2011, 11:18:37 am »

I have a similar problem. VL 6.0 SOHO was running perfectly until couple of days ago. Now I cannot log in my account. When I try it returns the log in screen. However, root account is working properly. Any suggestions?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #31 on: January 05, 2011, 04:48:02 pm »

Try to log in as root. Create a new user and try that. If the new user name works, then something got corrupted in your old user profile.
Logged
Bibby
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #32 on: January 06, 2011, 02:11:59 am »

Tried that. Same thing as my account. Also tried changing my pass, but no luck. It seems that no other user except root is functional.  Huh
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2011, 05:04:06 am »

Can you log in if you boot to text mode?
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


move the needle


« Reply #34 on: January 06, 2011, 07:52:07 am »

/home may be corrupted, not mounting, or a reference to it may be incorrect. Root's home is /root. Check to see that /home is accessible.

You might also try creating a user and specifying a home directory such as /testuser just to see if that works.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
Bibby
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #35 on: January 06, 2011, 11:28:07 am »

Can you log in if you boot to text mode?
I'll try that.
/home may be corrupted, not mounting, or a reference to it may be incorrect. Root's home is /root. Check to see that /home is accessible.

You might also try creating a user and specifying a home directory such as /testuser just to see if that works.
I can access /home but creating a user with specific home directory didn't cross my mind. I'll see if that works. Thanks.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!