VectorLinux
July 30, 2014, 01:03:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL5.9.1 SOHO Ndiswrapper dont works  (Read 1458 times)
Cepo
Member
*
Posts: 11


« on: January 13, 2010, 01:27:31 pm »

Hi. Sorry for a making new thread. I just readed many information on forum but I didn t find information how to fix my problem.

I have VL 5.9.1 SOHO with kernel 2.6.25.7 with Intel wireless 3945 abg wireless card. I readed this main information
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=1282.0

Method 1> Dotn works, because vasm in safe mode dont detect my card. I freeze on this step and I cant go next.

Method2> Everything works fine in all steps to configure ndiswrapper. I have latest version of ndiswrapper and latest
version on Intel wirelles 3945 ABG driver. I installed ndiswrapper - but last step

ifconfig wlan0 up            gave me       SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory error.

Ethernet is working normal with cable. Any ideas? I will be glad for any info.
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 01:46:23 pm »

Take a look at this HowTo. http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=10947.0
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Cepo
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 02:12:07 pm »

Thanks for link. I try it. but I got this error on this step

Code:

root:# modprobe -n -v --first-time ndiswrapper
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.27.29/misc/ndiswrapper.ko

I got

cepolinux:/~/ndis
root:# modprobe -n -v --first-time ndiswrapper
FATAL: Module ndiswrapper already in kernel.
cepolinux:/~/ndis
root:# insmod /lib/modules/2.6.27.29/misc/ndiswrapper.ko
insmod: can't read '/lib/modules/2.6.27.29/misc/ndiswrapper.ko': No such file or directory

 Cry

And root:# dmesg  - there are no info about ndiswrapper in this code  Embarrassed
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 02:14:56 pm by Cepo » Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2010, 03:52:04 pm »

Thanks for link. I try it. but I got this error on this step

Did you continue and try the next step? The steps that you got errors on were to insert the ndiswrapper module which (according to the errors) appears to already be inserted so I *think* everything is fine so far.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Cepo
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2010, 09:01:28 am »

Hi

I dont have luck to fix that. I reinstalled system and tried at once. I download ndiswrapper 1.55 - latest version. Intel driver was downloaded from
Intel web site. I go step by step in manual what you posted to me and I got error in dmesg.

root:# dmesg     

iwl3945: iwlwifi-3945-1.ucode firmware file req failed: Reason -2
iwl3945: Could not read microcode: -2
ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:10:00.0 disabled
eth0: Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: RX/TX
eth0: 10/100 speed: disabling TSO
ndiswrapper version 1.55 loaded (smp=yes, preempt=yes)
usbcore: registered new interface driver ndiswrapper

cepolinux:/~/Ndis
root:# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down

I will try to use other version of Intel driver if it help. And, I can istall VL6 version but I am not sure if the new kernel will be works with ati catalyst 8-5 for my
old Ati radeon X1350  Sad
Logged
Cepo
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2010, 09:58:31 am »

NOW SOLVED  Grin Cheesy Wink

The problem was missing firmware iwlwifi3945-1.uncode in /etc/firmware. I had iwlwifi3945-2.uncode yesterday after reinstalling system.

I found link to 3945-1 uncode and copy this to firmware. And now, every is working perfect.  Wink

I very thank you for your link and help  Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!