VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: cant get usb wireless to work  (Read 8502 times)

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
cant get usb wireless to work
« on: January 16, 2010, 02:48:22 pm »

Went to my local Microcenter with a list of sticks that I got from http://linux-wless.passys.nl/query_hostif.php?hostif=USB and got the only one they had on the list with the right ver.  I got a D-Link DWA-160 ver A2. I tryed the how to and I got as far as the ifplugd. when I open in terminal it is blanc. I type in INTERFACES="eth0 wlan0" and save.  Then I reopen it and its blank again. Here are the readouts to that point.

vector://home/mike
root:# modprobe ath9k
vector://home/mike
root:# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 07d1:3a09 D-Link System
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
vector://home/mike
root:# modprobe ath9k
vector://home/mike
root:# cat /etc/modprobe.conf
# /etc/modprobe.conf (old location for Linux 2.6+ config)
#
# The use of this config file is deprecated.
# Instead, create files in the /etc/modprobe.d/ directory
# containing modprobe options.
#
# For more information, see "man modprobe.conf".


alias wlan0 ath9k
vector://home/mike
root:# nano /etc/ifplugd/ifplugd.conf
vector://home/mike
root:#                   

Next I used the link from the web page above and really didn't understand it so I decided to go to D-Link and see if there was a driver.  there was but its an RPM.  So back to the how to were I found a  VIDEO TUTORIAL that showed me how to change it, well that didn't work either this was the readout for that.

vector://home/mike/Downloads/dwa160_linux_drivers_32017
root:# installpkg otusdriver-3.2.0-17.i386.tgz
WARNING: Non-standard package name

.-----.-----------------------------------------------------------------------.
| 1/1 | Installing otusdriver-3.2.0-17.i386.tgz                               |
'-----'-----------------------------------------------------------------------'
WARNING: Package has no description.

vector://home/mike/Downloads/dwa160_linux_drivers_32017
root:#                   

I tried one more thing source code with help from the VIDEO TUTORIAL, (I love who ever made them)  again it didn't get me to far.  I got to the run command and didn't get any further.

the only thing i didn't try was NdisWrapper because it should be in the kernal but I am having no luck with it.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3217
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2010, 07:21:51 pm »

which vectorlinux release and version are you working with?

did you try the VLWifi utility? this tool should do everything for you by just answering a few questions.  itll even setup ndiswrapper when needed with a couple of clicks.

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2010, 07:49:23 am »

No I did't try it. I did't even know about it.  I'm running 6.0 classic.
Logged

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2010, 11:49:47 am »

have you tried wicd?
Logged
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2010, 12:29:02 pm »

I did try wicd.  I think the problem is with the drivers or that I can't get card and the computer talking. i cant get past the ifplugd or get the drivers to download to get it to talk.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2010, 07:46:39 pm »

Pls post your output of lspci...
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2010, 03:09:57 am »

here is the lspci and my lsusb since I have a usb D-Link wireless adapter.

vector://home/mike
root:# lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI-X GeForce Go 6100 (rev a2)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PMU (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev f1)
00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev f1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
vector://home/mike
root:# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 07d1:3a09 D-Link System
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
vector://home/mike
root:#                               
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2010, 03:22:33 am »

Sorry, I forgot to ask you to post the lsmod too...
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2010, 02:41:17 pm »

Not a problem.  I'm also attaching the ifconfig

vector://home/mike
root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ath9k                 316600  0
mac80211              155676  1 ath9k
cfg80211               23816  1 mac80211
snd_seq_dummy           3588  0
snd_seq_oss            31616  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6912  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                52016  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7564  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            46208  0
snd_mixer_oss          15616  1 snd_pcm_oss
powernow_k8            13956  1
speedstep_lib           4740  0
freq_table              4352  1 powernow_k8
snd_hda_intel         397104  1
snd_pcm                75268  2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel
rtc_cmos               10144  0
rtc_core               15132  1 rtc_cmos
snd_timer              20872  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
rtc_lib                 3328  1 rtc_core
k8temp                  4992  0
snd_page_alloc          8712  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_hwdep               8196  1 snd_hda_intel
forcedeth              52112  0
snd                    54052  12 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_hwdep
nvidia               7218392  28
soundcore               7008  1 snd
i2c_nforce2             7044  0
i2c_core               21268  2 nvidia,i2c_nforce2
video                  17296  9
output                  3456  1 video
wmi                     6568  0
joydev                 10048  0
evdev                  10144  8
vector://home/mike
root:# ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1b:24:92:eb:85
          inet addr:192.168.0.235  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2146 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2479 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1426786 (1.3 MiB)  TX bytes:475149 (464.0 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x6000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:100 (100.0 B)  TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2010, 04:44:06 pm »

I notice your eth0 can get an IP? Can you ping your router?

Did you try this?

http://www.dlink.com/products/?tab=3&pid=DWA-160&rev=DWA-160
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2010, 11:09:09 pm »

When I'm at home yes I can ping the router.  I never tried it here at work. I piggy back off another computer thats running off a satellite. Its slow but at least its something. 

Yes i did try that sight.  Thats where I got the RPM drivers that I cant install. Well more like having a problem installing. The readouts of those attempts are in my first post.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2010, 11:39:56 pm »

When I'm at home yes I can ping the router. 

If you can ping your router that mean the network is working.
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2010, 02:46:02 pm »

I can ping the hard wire not the wireless. Isn't eth0 the weired Internet part.  I cant even get there to show a signal with the wireless.  I always had weired Internet but when my wireless went out I went to a usb and thats where I'm having problems.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Logged

MO9013

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: cant get usb wireless to work
« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2010, 03:45:25 pm »

One of the first things I tried. I put them in the /lib/firmware file and still no go.  I didn't know what else to do so I went to the d-link site after I goggled it and one of the post said that they had to download the driver again since I have ver A2 tried that and I posted all the readouts from that ordeal trying to convert the REM file over to what I could use and then have it not to work. I think I'm doing something wrong with the driver. I'm following the instructions the best I can. I got a feeling it will be a slow night so I'm going to try and go through it all again.

I didnt say this before but when the usb stisk is pluged in it isn't found.  I can onlu see it if I use lsusb. 
« Last Edit: January 22, 2010, 03:50:37 pm by MO9013 »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3