VectorLinux
September 18, 2014, 07:23:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem viewing in Firefox [SOLVED]  (Read 2172 times)
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« on: January 21, 2010, 03:23:21 am »

I am having problem viewing some website using firefox-3.6.7. Actually this happen for the previous version of firefox too. Do anyone have any idea?

« Last Edit: January 22, 2010, 06:32:33 am by hata_ph » Logged
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 04:46:53 am »

I had that problem a while ago using the nv graphics driver, switching to the proper nvidia driver solved this for me.

Chris
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 08:24:58 pm »

I thought we pinned that down to using an xorg NVidia or ATI driver. The solution was to use either VESA or the proprietary ATI or NVidia driver.

I've had that problem with Firefox and SeaMonkey for a few versions. Both the computers with the problem have an ATI graphics card or onboard chip. For one computer, I can't build a proprietary driver because the card is too old. The other *should* work with the proprietary driver but doesn't and I'd have to build it from source. I really don't need what the proprietary driver would give me, so I just live with the Firefox/SeaMonkey rendering problems. Mostly I use Opera anyway.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2010, 06:32:13 am »

Yes, you all are right. The radeon/ati display driver is the culprit. Have change back to using vesa and all back to normal. Thanks.
Smiley
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2010, 09:10:33 pm »

Try this HOWTO to see if it fixes the problem on your end using the open source ati/radeon/nv driver, it works for me (ati or radeon):
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=11396.0

I used your site in the screenshot above to test before and after.
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 530


move the needle


« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2010, 10:10:01 pm »

Openchrome on chrome9: Identical problem, identical solution  Grin

I wasn't going to address this yet, but since everyone made it so easy . . .

thank you!
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2010, 05:36:21 am »

Try this HOWTO to see if it fixes the problem on your end using the open source ati/radeon/nv driver, it works for me (ati or radeon):
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=11396.0

I used your site in the screenshot above to test before and after.

Thanks...it work Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!