VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: where is wireless how to?  (Read 1481 times)

leobing

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
where is wireless how to?
« on: January 23, 2010, 07:33:57 pm »

I have been searching your site for help to set up my laptop and my wifes desktop wirelessly all running VL6 KDE Classic.
I keep seeing something about "wireless help or so" but it is not a link. Just  a note.
I run VL6 KDE Classic. It is just great but just now I can only get the wireless showing connected but I still cannot surf.
My modem/router is a Siemens SE567. One of the things I am not sure of is should "enable full internet gateway device (IGD) support" or not.
I used Wicd network manager and got to where it showed "connected" but trying to browse with Firefox did not work at all.
It showed "unable to connect"
Is there really a wireless how to help file? If so where is it and can I get to it from the vector site?
Logged
LINUX: no virus, no worms, no spyware, so why Microsoft?

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2010, 07:59:12 pm »

If the wicd is showing that you are connected, then you are most likely connected to your wireless host\router. I recommend checking security\settings on the device (router).

We do have a HowTo on "Configure your Wireless Network", here on forum in the HowTo section. See..  http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=1282.0

Hope this helps
Logged

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2010, 02:14:22 am »

Also if you set up your ip adress manualy in wicd, there's a chance it will show that it's connected when it's actually isn't.
Logged
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

leobing

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2010, 10:09:47 am »

I see that I did set an ip address and it shows as connected. Using dhcp it does not show connected.
That'll teach me use the guis. I am trying to set it up with cli.
I see that the D-Link WUA-1340 does not seem to have a driver?
I did lsusb:
root:# lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 07d1:3c04 D-Link System WUA-1340
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 058f:6377 Alcor Micro Corp. Multimedia Card Reader
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 03f0:5311 Hewlett-Packard Officejet 6300
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
leo://home/leo

Now I think I have to find a driver and install it. I don't know where to put the driver file or what it would look like.
Someone mentioned I might have to install a windoze driver and run ndiswrapper.
I don't have anything from Microslop here so I would have to try to find it on the net.
I see a file called:
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
Is this where I would see the driver if it was on my compter?

Logged
LINUX: no virus, no worms, no spyware, so why Microsoft?

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2010, 10:24:48 am »

Logged
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2010, 05:30:19 pm »

Daniel,
          That tutorial is too hard... switching back and forth from terminal to gui like that.. sheesh .. Just Kiding!!
The video tut's are just getting better and better

leobing,
             Please let us know if that works out for you.
Logged

leobing

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2010, 08:59:30 pm »

The last item with the video was very nice and made things nice and simple.
I have no doubt that I will be able to get it done. Thanks.
The only problem I have now is my wife's computer has died for the last time so I will be buying another computer.
Most likely keeping the new one for me and giving her my cast off.
Of course I won't tell her that.
She will think the one I give her is new.
It is fairly new but I have my eye on a Gateway computer and have always thought of them as really good.
In a day or so I will try again to get wireless going.
Thanks much.
Logged
LINUX: no virus, no worms, no spyware, so why Microsoft?

leobing

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: where is wireless how to?
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2010, 08:25:31 am »

Well, I got almost nowhere with ndiswrapper as the only driver I found was a zip file with inside it a windows executable .exe
Running this under wine just showed me "I hate Microsoft".
Is there such a thing as a USB wireless thing that has a driver that can be installed in Linux without using ndiswrapper?
Or where can I find such a list.
If there is, I will buy a couple and be finished with this.

Confused.
Logged
LINUX: no virus, no worms, no spyware, so why Microsoft?