VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Microphone does not working  (Read 1253 times)

Sybelius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Microphone does not working
« on: January 25, 2010, 09:56:58 pm »

Hi All,

I am just discovering Vector Linux and I am experiencing an issue about audio: Audacity is unable to record and I dont see nothing on the panel "Volume control".
This is my Vector: Vector Linux 6.0 Standard Final Built on Feb-16-09
I have been trying XFCE and LXDE as desktop windows manager and these are some data about my machine:
Quote
CPU: -CP-IP4P-5200 INTEL DUAL CORE E5200 2.5GHZ
RAM: -RM-2048-800 2048MB DDR2 800 PC-6400 RAM
HD: -SG-3S320 3.5" SATA 320GB HDD SEAGATE (Disco Primario)
HD: -SG-3S500 3.5" SATA 500GB HDD SEAGATE (Disco Secondario)
Scheda video: -ZT -GF94GTY-512 ZOTAC 9400GT 512MB DDR2 PCI-E
Tipo Modem/router: SpeedTouch Thomson 546V6 (Ethernet)
Finally, this is terminal's output, whit some data maybe useful to set the issue:
 
Quote
root[dominum]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Host Bridge
00:00.1 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Host Bridge
00:00.2 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Host Bridge
00:00.3 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Host Bridge
00:00.4 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Host Bridge
00:00.5 PIC: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 I/O APIC Interrupt Controller
00:00.6 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Security Device
00:00.7 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237/VX700 PCI Bridge
00:02.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 PCI to PCI Bridge Controller (rev 80)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN896/VN896/P4M900 PCI to PCI Bridge Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. Device 5337 (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 07)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a0)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a0)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a0)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a0)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237A PCI to ISA Bridge
00:11.7 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8251 Ultra VLINK Controller
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 7c)
00:13.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237A Host Bridge
00:13.1 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237A PCI to PCI Bridge
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G96 [GeForce 9400 GT] (rev a1)
80:01.0 Audio device: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller) (rev 10)
root[dominum]# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: VT82xx [HDA VIA VT82xx], device 0: VT1708B Analog [VT1708B Analog]
Subdevices: 2/2
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
root[dominum]# cat /proc/asound/card*/codec* | grep -i codec
Codec: VIA VT1708B 8-Ch
root[dominum]# alsamixer

alsamixer: function snd_mixer_load failed: Invalid argument
root[dominum]#
root[dominum]# alsamixer -Dhw

alsamixer: function snd_mixer_load failed: Invalid argument
root[dominum]# alsamixer -V capture

alsamixer: function snd_mixer_load failed: Invalid argument
root[dominum]# 

Thank you very much for your kind attention; please, apologize me, I am Italian and I know that my English language is not fluent. Ciao  :)
« Last Edit: January 25, 2010, 10:04:09 pm by Sybelius »
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Microphone does not working
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 11:39:28 pm »

What kind of microphone are you using?

In audacity you can choose the microphone input.
Go to 'Edit' --> then 'Preferences'
Under the 'Audio I/O' option on the preferences panel look to where it says recording.
There is a drop down menu there where you can make a different choice as to what you are using as a recording device.
Also, I've found my own recording device will not work unless I set the channels setting to 'mono'
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

Sybelius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Microphone does not working
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 06:11:47 pm »

Quote
What kind of microphone are you using?
Hi Stretchedthin,

Thank you for your kind concern, my microphone is "Trust" connected by a pink plug.
I have been trying to set "mono" option and also changing "Alsa default" with "Alsa etc. etc." and "OSS" (3 options avalaible on "Recording options"; in the left side (Reproduction) are many, I have been trying some: do nothing  :'(
I will try again when I get time. This night also discovered that keyboard settings (Italian) disappear switching off the computer and I have to set it again. Ciao
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Microphone does not working
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2010, 08:21:25 pm »

Here is a common thing you might try....
type alsamixer in the terminal and
Press the tab key to move over to the 'Capture' view in alsamixer then use the arrow keys to navigate to the capture bar and make sure that it is turned up.  Also I believe the m key will mute or on mute capture or the other bars so make sure nothing is muted.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

Sybelius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Microphone does not working
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2010, 04:09:57 pm »

Quote
Here is a common thing you might try....
type alsamixer in the terminal

Hi Stretchedthin,

This is terminal's output....
Quote
Dominum---Tlokweng:/~
dominum:$ alsamixer

alsamixer: function snd_mixer_load failed: Invalid argument
Dominum---Tlokweng:/~
dominum:$ su
Password:
You are working as root
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
Package manager: slapt-get, pkg
Network tools  : ifconfig, host, ping, nmap, iptables
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
localuser:root being added to access control list
Dominum---Tlokweng://home/dominum
root:# alsamixer

alsamixer: function snd_mixer_load failed: Invalid argument
Dominum---Tlokweng://home/dominum
root:#
I am not surprised about that, because as I wrote in the 1st post, clicking on "Volume control" icon (close to the clock), coming out just blank windows  :(  Ciao
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Microphone does not working
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2010, 05:12:05 pm »

That is a problem. I see also from your previous post that your sound applet is not showing up on the panel.
I have a couple video tutorials on sound systems in Vectorlinux and how they should work you can check them out here.
System Sound on Vectorlinux 6.0


I haven't been in your situation, and I'm not the best guy for hardware related issues, but here are the first two things I'd do if this happened during one of my installs.

First I'd try re-running alsaconf you'll find the tutorial in with the link above.

Second if this was a fairly new install, I would try re-installing Vector, using the text installer. (installing with the text installer)
Also, during this install, don't deselect any of the default packages.
If anyone else has suggestions please chime in.
Ken
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

Sybelius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Microphone does not working
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2010, 09:54:08 am »

@ Stretchedthin:

Hi  :)
I have been reading with a lot of attention your suggestions and also added to my bookmarks all links; as soon as possible I will try to work on it, if I get rid of the issue I will write the whole process over here.
Thank You very much again, ciao

Edit

I have just updating the kernel (following that very good tutorial of yours), it is the 2.6.27.29 now, but nothing changed.
Even after running "Alsaconf" the windows coming out with right click on the volume icon are blank; I was wishing to post a screenshot, but even the installation of the utility "Scrot" does not working  :(
Moreover, after restart Grub (Grub, not Grub2; I dont have installed Lilo), it shows "error 15". I am afraid I have lost Vector.... :'( Reistalling ? Maybe  :-\
« Last Edit: January 29, 2010, 10:53:31 pm by Sybelius »
Logged