Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: newbie how do I see my win network?  (Read 1638 times)

degarb

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
newbie how do I see my win network?
« on: January 26, 2010, 06:15:44 pm »
IN ubuntu this is easy.  IN vecor light, I am clueless how to see the windows network.  I am getting web.  BUt under root/mnt  I see nothing except my linux computer.

I made sure samba is running.  Is it in another folder, hidden somewhere?  Something I need to do?

degarb

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: newbie how do I see my win network?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2010, 06:18:53 pm »
Also the page on http://127.0.0.1:901/  is way too complex.  This is where most people drop off, since all they want to do is flip one switch and this is being encrypted as severly as pork and corruption in legislation on the Hill.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: newbie how do I see my win network?
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2010, 06:30:17 pm »
What do you get using the "Windows Networking" on the menu?

degarb

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: newbie how do I see my win network?
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2010, 06:40:05 pm »
menu>network>windows network>mount>asks me for password. I type but dont see anything moving, assuming type of hidding my typing. I hit return.  >it only shows the \\vector pc mounted no.  I hit mount and still nothing in root/mnt  other than the vector pc

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: newbie how do I see my win network?
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2010, 07:05:40 pm »
VL Light is not aimed at beginners. If your computer is Pentium 4 or higher, you would be better off with KDE-Classic. Konqueror (like Nautilus in Ubuntu) makes networking much easier.

That said, it is correct that your password is not echoed back to you. You can use a blank one (by the way, running as root is discouraged unless you need to make system changes).
 
Samba is working if it sees \\vector. I assume it is the local machine. Before you can mount anything, you need to share some files on it.

As to why it doesn't see other machines, that becomes more complicated to figure out. It would help with a description of how your network is configured and what machines are connected to it.




stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: newbie how do I see my win network?
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2010, 08:11:59 pm »
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: newbie how do I see my win network?
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2010, 03:14:54 am »
Thank you, stretchedthin. I keep forgetting to point people to your excellent videos.