VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 06:14:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: newbie how do I see my win network?  (Read 1443 times)
degarb
Member
*
Posts: 38


« on: January 26, 2010, 06:15:44 pm »

IN ubuntu this is easy.  IN vecor light, I am clueless how to see the windows network.  I am getting web.  BUt under root/mnt  I see nothing except my linux computer.

I made sure samba is running.  Is it in another folder, hidden somewhere?  Something I need to do?
Logged
degarb
Member
*
Posts: 38


« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2010, 06:18:53 pm »

Also the page on http://127.0.0.1:901/  is way too complex.  This is where most people drop off, since all they want to do is flip one switch and this is being encrypted as severly as pork and corruption in legislation on the Hill.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2010, 06:30:17 pm »

What do you get using the "Windows Networking" on the menu?
Logged
degarb
Member
*
Posts: 38


« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2010, 06:40:05 pm »

menu>network>windows network>mount>asks me for password. I type but dont see anything moving, assuming type of hidding my typing. I hit return.  >it only shows the \\vector pc mounted no.  I hit mount and still nothing in root/mnt  other than the vector pc
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2010, 07:05:40 pm »

VL Light is not aimed at beginners. If your computer is Pentium 4 or higher, you would be better off with KDE-Classic. Konqueror (like Nautilus in Ubuntu) makes networking much easier.

That said, it is correct that your password is not echoed back to you. You can use a blank one (by the way, running as root is discouraged unless you need to make system changes).
 
Samba is working if it sees \\vector. I assume it is the local machine. Before you can mount anything, you need to share some files on it.

As to why it doesn't see other machines, that becomes more complicated to figure out. It would help with a description of how your network is configured and what machines are connected to it.



Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2010, 08:11:59 pm »

If this helps at all here is a video...
Connecting to Windows or Samba networks with Vectorlinux light.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2010, 03:14:54 am »

Thank you, stretchedthin. I keep forgetting to point people to your excellent videos.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!