VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: update bios?  (Read 1900 times)

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
update bios?
« on: February 04, 2010, 01:26:00 pm »

How would you go about updating the bios from VL? All or most of the bios installers that I have seen (from Dell at least) are .exe files. Would you have to boot into windows to update the bios?
Logged
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: update bios?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 01:35:57 pm »

All BIOS upgrades I have done were from a boot floppy or CD. No other OS involved.
Logged

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
Re: update bios?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 02:41:21 pm »

Where did you get the files to put on the boot floppy/cd?
Logged
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: update bios?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 05:25:28 pm »

Downloads from the motherboard manufacturer. Usually little programs that create a floppy.
Logged

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: update bios?
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2010, 01:23:26 pm »

For some updates, you'll need something like a DOS boot floppy. If you don't have one, you can have a look here:

http://www.bootdisk.com/

Paul.
Logged

nitehawk

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Just me.
Re: update bios?
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2010, 02:03:13 pm »

I upgraded the bios in my 2 older Dell Optiplex(s) (PIII) by doing it in a rathar crazy way.  I dug out an old hard drive I had packed away in a box (about an 8G with win98 I think).  I slapped that in just for the time to go to the Dell website and do the upgrade.  Then I switched back to my regular hard drive.
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: update bios?
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2010, 07:54:46 am »

There is a project for doing this in Linux:
http://flashrom.org/Flashrom
Logged

nitehawk

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Just me.
Re: update bios?
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2010, 09:01:36 am »

There is a project for doing this in Linux:
http://flashrom.org/Flashrom
Thanks for that link!  I'll take a good look at that  (would sure save a lot of needless "fiddling" in the future).
Logged