VectorLinux
April 20, 2014, 04:00:36 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: gslapt. pkg remove or what.....  (Read 827 times)
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« on: January 30, 2010, 08:57:41 am »

Ok I check for updates every few days and the things that keep coming up are the things I've already upgraded.....ffmpeg, pidgin, firefox, and seamonkey.  Is there a way to remove those so they don't come up any more and or without removing all the dependencies?  I'm kind of new to slack procedures so I'm not sure what to do here or what all gets removed with what.  Thanks....
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2010, 01:16:26 pm »

Ok I check for updates every few days and the things that keep coming up are the things I've already upgraded.....ffmpeg, pidgin, firefox, and seamonkey.  Is there a way to remove those so they don't come up any more and or without removing all the dependencies?  I'm kind of new to slack procedures so I'm not sure what to do here or what all gets removed with what.  Thanks....

I'm not quite sure what you want to do. Are you talking about removing the packages you have upgraded, or removing the upgrade notifications?

I'm also a little puzzled that you should be getting notifications for packages you've already updated.....

Paul.
Logged
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2010, 01:27:04 pm »

When I open gslapt, I do update then "mark all upgrades".  Then when I tell it to show upgrades it's showing me there are 4 packages there.  ffmpeg, firefox, pidgin, and seamonky and they are still at their old versions.  (ie firefox 3.5.7 and I have 3.6 installed )  I'm not wanting to remove anything there.  I like you don't understand why they are saying an upgrade is available and I've already done it.  (like it's not picking up the new versions maybe)... I did of course install the packages via gslapt using the testing repo.  I don't normally have the testing reop enabled when checking for any basic updates.  (as I don't when this comes up). 

I don't want to remove the packages, just curious as to why they're saying an upgrade is available. 

Thanks

Edit:  I wish I knew how to do a screen shot but anyway here's an example of that firefox says under the "common" tab......

Installed version: 3.6-i586-1vl60

Latest Available version: 3.5.7-i586-1-vl60
« Last Edit: January 30, 2010, 01:32:41 pm by Deach » Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2010, 01:31:22 pm »

Ah. Ok, I think I know what is going on then, though I don't know that there is any easy cure.

The various repositories have priority settings. The updates you have installed are all from testing, which has lower priority than the standard repos. As a result, even though you are running later versions, Gslapt thinks the packages from patches, extra etc. are updates to the packages you have installed from testing.

Not sure that there is any way to fix it, though you may be able to modify the priorities that Gslapt uses. Personally, I think I would just ignore it.....

Paul.
Logged
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2010, 01:33:47 pm »

Ok I will do just that then.  Thanks I just wanted to make sure that I hadn't done anything wrong.  That explains it however.....I was posting my last as you did this......Again Thanks.
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2010, 09:34:41 pm »

You should be able to stop that behavior. In Gslapt go to Edit menu, Preferences, Sources tab. For selected sources highlight one and click on the Edit button, then on the Priority dropdown, For each of your chosen sources, click Default. Okay your way out. Then do Update again.

It works for me. Let us know if it works for you.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2010, 10:14:15 pm »

Got three of the four.  FFmpeg is still in the list.  I had a post that was answered about the possible wording or numbering (something about R coming before S or something)  of the release and the way it saw that.  Thanks Grannygeek and tooth and nail for all the help. 
« Last Edit: January 30, 2010, 11:09:24 pm by Deach » Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!