VectorLinux
October 01, 2014, 06:22:37 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: SSH and WICD-CLIENT and strange shenanigans [SOLVED]  (Read 1920 times)
Rytz

« on: February 24, 2010, 03:31:29 am »

Greetings:

This seems like a strange problem but I am a linux noob so it's highly possible I'm missing something simple.

Basically, when I log in as a standard user, I'm able to pull an IP and get on the internet fine.

In regards to SSH, however, I can only SSH to the machine from LOCALHOST (SSH'ing from the same machine to the same machine), not over the LAN or WAN from other computers.

Now, If I restart the network by using "WICD Network Manager" through KDE (or WICD-CLIENT from the command line) after logging in, the SSH problem will then be fixed and the world is safe once again.

I noticed that KDE is autostarting the WICD-CLIENT by using "/etc/xdg/autostart/wicd-tray.desktop".  I tried moving that out temporarily and starting the WICD service by adding it to he startup services for rc4 but that didn't help.  If KDE doesn't start WICD-CLIENT then the network doesn't work at all (completely dead).

Any thoughts?  I'm guessing I need to run some other network scripts since I'm trying to get the network working outside of KDE?  It seems like SSH should be working without having to log in to the desktop at all.

I also tried removing the startup file option for starting after the tray / panel (X-KDE-autostart-after=panel)  - no luck there.

Thanks much.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2010, 02:49:22 am by Rytz » Logged

~ Rytz
M0E-lnx
Administrator