VectorLinux
July 29, 2014, 04:44:50 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: for newbie.. install successful, but..  (Read 1139 times)
ordWeist

« on: March 19, 2010, 09:31:32 am »

Hello !
I'm new in vector and in linux too. besides, I'm from Russia and bad in English.
I have old laptop - one day i decided to revive it with any linux - and to get some experience in working with it.
Laptop - 600MGHz, 128 RAM, 10+HDD. So, Vector 6 Lite installed.
I read some FAQ, watched some videocourses, found here. My question maybe silly.. But - after installation laptop boots in console. And.. I don't know what to do next! ;(
Found some commands to start graphical interface .. in FAQ topic with problem in display resolution  - they didn't help.
VASM was checked, in its config there are a selection between something like "load an text mode", "load in graphical mode" .. of course, I choose first.
Also, the IceVM selected as primary.
While I tryed to load, using "linux GUI" in boot-manager, there are some red error strings in log, but they disappered too fast..

In super-vasm, after my try to select "XCONF - select X window using text mode ...." I recieved an warning "no X found so boil" .. no idea what this means..
also, after try to "select manager for GUI" - both "KDE" and "GNOME"  - are ways to closing VASM, disconnect as SU, and as my standart user too - laptop shows an "hello" form Vector and asks for login.

What I do wrong?
Help me, if you please. Sorry for rough English )

Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2010, 09:34:38 am by ordWeist » Logged