VectorLinux
October 02, 2014, 04:01:31 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How To Upgrade FireFox on VL 5.8 [SOLVED]  (Read 2884 times)
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« on: March 14, 2010, 02:11:16 pm »

Any help would be appreciated. 

I do not want to go through the trouble of installing VL 6.0 on my computer at this time as it will be time consuming as I use it as my main file server and backup server for a small windows network.

Support for FF 2.0 is just about down and am getting warnings from Google and YouTube that it will not longer be supported.

« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 06:25:31 pm by solex » Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1263



« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 03:40:41 pm »

Add the testing directory to your preferences in GSLAPT and you should find FF 3.5
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 03:55:59 pm »

Hi,
I have http://ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinucx/veclinux-5.8/testing as a package source

The only thing I see is mozilla-firefox 3.03-i686-1vl58 location is ./net is this the correct package?

Thanks,
Dan
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2010, 04:28:35 pm »

VL5.8 is a bit old and I believe no one is packaging updated version of FF for it. I would suggest upgrade to a newer version of VL or you compile FF by yourself.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1263



« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2010, 05:02:12 pm »

Hi,
I have http://ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinucx/veclinux-5.8/testing as a package source

The only thing I see is mozilla-firefox 3.03-i686-1vl58 location is ./net is this the correct package?

Thanks,
Dan

My bad. I clicked on 5.9 instead of 5.8 when checking the repository.

Yeah... Your best bet would be to download directly from Firefox and install that way. It's not that bad.  Grin
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2010, 05:29:26 pm »

IIRC, you can run firefox as root and then access the Help/Update option which will update the version installed on your system.  I seem to remember the potential for broken plugins but can probably be fixed after-the-fact.  Hope this helps.
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2010, 07:33:23 pm »

Thanks Guys,

I know this is a long shot but I don't want to waste your time and hear you that I should upgrade but I downloaded Firefox and get the following error:

//home/blah/firefox/firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libdbus-1.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2010, 01:29:49 am »

What version of dbus currently installed on your system?
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2010, 05:09:01 pm »

I have version 0.62-i586-4v58
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2010, 05:29:28 pm »

I think u need dbus version 1.x or above....try search the VL repo for any update..but I dun think there is any recent update to VL 5.8 repo as it is no more maintained..............if there is no you have to manual compile it yourself..
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2010, 06:25:15 pm »

I can't believe it but I got it to work.  Thanks to the suggestions.

I upgraded to dbus 1.02
Then when I ran FF 3.6 it told me I needed gtk 2.10 or higher (I had 2.8 installed)
I then upgraded gtk-engines to version 2.10.


Ho do I replace my current version of FireFox to I simply replace some directory if so where do I find it?

Thanks Again....
Dan
« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 06:32:12 pm by solex » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2010, 03:12:36 am »

use removepkg to remove the current version and compile the latest version of FF..
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2010, 05:15:55 am »

hata_ph

The package is already compiled, I un-tarred it to a directory and it works as is, why would I need to recompile?

Thanks
Dan
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2010, 07:26:20 am »

Haha...sorry..maybe I misunderstand your post.... Tongue
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2010, 11:58:51 am »

I'm good for now I simply moved the folder to //usr/lib/firefox/ and remove the firefox 2.0 package and created one symlink on my desktop to the new folder for firefox and the startup script.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2010, 04:32:32 am by solex » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!