VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139  (Read 7677 times)

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94

 I have an IBM Thinkpad, circa 2000, that ran Windows 98. The ethernet jack isn't functional, since no one needed it back then. I installed a pc card/ethernet dongle, but haven't been able to get it working with the Thinkpad. I've installed Vector 6.0 lite. lspci gives me :Realtek Semiconduuctor RTL -8139/8139C+ (rev10). And Google even came up with this:
   http://www.linuxquestions.org/hcl/showproduct.php?product=482
 Which says "Oh, Slackware works great with that from the get-go."
  Guess mine didn't get the memo. Is there a way to get this from the terminal?
Logged

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 05:58:14 pm »

What have you tried so far to get it to work? Wicd? Netconf in VASM?
Logged
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 06:14:02 pm »

 That got me closer! Wicd looked for a wireless set up, and I haven't got one yet. But VASM did do some good! And yes, I messed with it before posting, but that was before I went into bios and enabled the pci card. Now at least the LED for "link" comes on, indicating that there's some sign of life through the ethernet plug. When I try to get to the net, it can't find a server. When I try 192.168.1.1 in the search bar it can't establish connection. It's better though, at least there's a spark there!
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2010, 08:45:41 pm »

Open a terminal (command line) su then enter root password.

Now type and post the output

lsmod | grep 8139

ifconfig -a

For ifconfig -a all we need to know is of there is any other
interface or name besides lo

Bigpaws
Logged

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 03:21:17 am »

 ifconfig had irda0 showing on the left side of the terminal screen.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 05:28:34 am »

If this laptop does not have Infra Red then try this in a terminal as root:

dhcpcd irda0

Then use ifconfig irda0 and see if an ip address was assigned.

Bigpaws
Logged

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 08:16:12 am »

 ifconfig irda0 got me 6 lines of info, but I don't see anything like an IP address. Link encap:IrLAP HWadder 00:00:00:00:
 
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2010, 09:13:30 am »

This is the entry to look for:

 inet addr:

Did dhcpcd complete?

What type of network is dhcp being used or are they assigned?

Bigpaws
Logged

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2010, 02:42:48 pm »

 When I tried dhcpcd irda0, the command was valid but didn't give me any info as a return. I tried to copy the output to a memory stick, but don't see anything as far as DHCP or IP address.
 vector://home/vl
root:# irda0     Link encap:IrLAP  HWaddr 00:00:00:00 
bash: irda0: command not found
vector://home/vl
root:#           NOARP  MTU:2048  Metric:1
bash: NOARP: command not found
vector://home/vl
root:#           RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
bash: RX: command not found
vector://home/vl
root:#           TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
bash: TX: command not found
vector://home/vl
root:#           collisions:0 txqueuelen:8
bash: collisions:0: command not found
vector://home/vl
root:#           RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
vector://home/vl
root:#
vector://home/vl
root:#
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2010, 06:36:46 pm »

dhcpcd does not output anything you can add a switch to do that try this command as root

dhcpcd -d irda0

Bigpaws
Logged

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2010, 07:12:24 pm »

 I entered dhcpcd -d irda0 and ran the command but didn't return anything. Is that what's supposed to happen?
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2010, 07:34:45 am »

Please post the output from the following commands:

lspci -v

lsusb

ifconfig -a

iwconfig

You can put the output in code tags to help keep the look clean (it's the button with this icon )
Logged

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2010, 02:52:29 pm »

 This is going to get a bit stinky. For some reason I'm unable to copy and paste from either xterm or urxvt. Probably not the first time that's been said. What's strange is that I was able to get it to work last night. Oh well, not a lot of help came from it, I'll try and report what happened when I entered the commands.
 lspci -v returns IBM Thinkpad A20m/A21/m and Realtek RTL -8139/8139C/8139C+
lsusb Bus001 Device 001 ID 1d6b:0001
ifconfig -a gives irda0 and local loopback inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask255.0.0.0 UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16463
 all the packets, errors, dropped, etc are 0's
 iwconfig=no wireless connections in lo,irda0 and eth0
 Hope this helps. When I try and use the middle mouse button to copy, xterm spits out a cascade of info similar to what I posted before. I kinda feel that being able to walk on water must be a part of the "legacy" required for copying and posting! If there's an easy/better way to get what I see in the terminal transferred to something so I can show it to you, I'd appreciate knowing what it is!
 Sorry if this sounds like a rant. I know I can't be the first person that's said it. And now that I think about it, it "is what it is." So yeah, it's another thing I'll have to learn or else figure out some way around it. Thanks.
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2010, 04:12:36 pm »

You're probably already aware, but in case not: You can select the text to copy in xterm (simply highlight it), and then use the middle-click in your browser to paste the selection.

Regardless, I see that iwconfig mentions an 'eth0' device but your ifconfig -a does not.  Please double-check 'ifconfig -a' for the mention of an eth0 device.
Logged

pottzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Re: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2010, 06:32:40 pm »

 No, no eth0 after running ifconfig -a. Just irda0.

 I highlighted the output, but when I changed over to paste it into a file, nothing happened when I clicked on the scroll wheel. Tried several times.

 Maybe it's because I don't have any mojo.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4