VectorLinux
July 29, 2014, 06:46:29 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139  (Read 5441 times)
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2010, 10:02:06 pm »

If your scroll wheel won't paste, try pressing the left and right mouse buttons at the same time. That should emulate the action of a middle button. If that doesn't work, let us know because you may have to change a setting in xorg.conf.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2010, 07:35:05 am »

 Just retried to to see what would happen. Nothing happened when I clicked both buttons.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2010, 09:25:26 am »

try this to output the results to a text file:
ifconfig -a > ifconfig_results.txt
lspci -v > lspci_results.txt
lsmod > lsmod_results.txt
lsusb > lsusb_results.txt

You could then read those files with any text editor, and can even attach it/them to a post here on the forum by using the 'Additional Options...' link below the reply box.  My head is stuck on the fact that iwconfig shows eth0 but ifconfig does not.  Seeing the full output from the above commands would be helpful.
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2010, 11:30:13 am »

 That worked! Now if I can figure out the little star thingie.
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:c0:26:b0:d0:18 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0x1400

irda0     Link encap:IrLAP  HWaddr 00:00:00:00 
          NOARP  MTU:2048  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:8
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
[code]
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64
Memory at f8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=64M]
Capabilities: [a0] AGP version 1.0
Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel

00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 128
Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=64
I/O behind bridge: 00002000-00002fff
Memory behind bridge: f4200000-f5ffffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 20000000-200fffff
Kernel modules: shpchp

00:02.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1450 (rev 03)
Subsystem: IBM ThinkPad A21m/T20/T22
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 11
Memory at 50000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Bus: primary=00, secondary=02, subordinate=05, sec-latency=176
Memory window 0: 10000000-13fff000 (prefetchable)
Memory window 1: 14000000-17fff000
I/O window 0: 00001400-000014ff
I/O window 1: 00003000-000030ff
16-bit legacy interface ports at 0001
Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus

00:02.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1450 (rev 03)
Subsystem: IBM ThinkPad A21m/T20/T22
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 11
Memory at 50100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Bus: primary=00, secondary=06, subordinate=09, sec-latency=176
Memory window 0: 18000000-1bfff000 (prefetchable)
Memory window 1: 1c000000-1ffff000
I/O window 0: 00003400-000034ff
I/O window 1: 00003800-000038ff
16-bit legacy interface ports at 0001
Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus

00:03.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems WinModem 56k (rev 01)
Subsystem: AMBIT Microsystem Corp. IBM ThinkPad T23 (2647-4MG)
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 11
Memory at f4101000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
I/O ports at 1c00 [size=8]
I/O ports at 1800 [size=256]
Capabilities: [f8] Power Management version 2
Kernel driver in use: martian
Kernel modules: martian_dev

00:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Cirrus Logic CS 4614/22/24/30 [CrystalClear SoundFusion Audio Accelerator] (rev 01)
Subsystem: IBM ThinkPad A20m
Flags: bus master, slow devsel, latency 64, IRQ 11
Memory at f4100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Memory at f4000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Kernel driver in use: Sound Fusion CS46xx
Kernel modules: snd-cs46xx

00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0

00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01) (prog-if 80 [Master])
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64
[virtual] Memory at 000001f0 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=8]
[virtual] Memory at 000003f0 (type 3, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=1]
[virtual] Memory at 00000170 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=8]
[virtual] Memory at 00000370 (type 3, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=1]
I/O ports at 1c10 [size=16]
Kernel driver in use: PIIX_IDE

00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 11
I/O ports at 1c20 [size=32]
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 03)
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 9
Kernel modules: i2c-piix4

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility P/M AGP 2x (rev 64) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: IBM ThinkPad A20m/A21m
Flags: bus master, stepping, medium devsel, latency 66, IRQ 11
Memory at f5000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
I/O ports at 2000 [size=256]
Memory at f4200000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
[virtual] Expansion ROM at 20000000 [disabled] [size=128K]
Capabilities: [50] AGP version 1.0
Capabilities: [5c] Power Management version 2
Kernel modules: atyfb

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RT8139
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 11
I/O ports at 1400 [size=256]
Memory at 14000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Kernel driver in use: 8139too
Kernel modules: 8139too, 8139cp
[code]
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_seq_midi            7936  0
snd_intel8x0           29980  0
i915                   30464  0
drm                    70824  1 i915
snd_seq_dummy           3588  0
snd_seq_oss            31616  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6912  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                52016  6 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss            46208  0
snd_mixer_oss          15616  1 snd_pcm_oss
speedstep_smi           5136  0
speedstep_lib           4740  1 speedstep_smi
freq_table              4352  1 speedstep_smi
irtty_sir               5888  0
snd_cs46xx             90088  0
sir_dev                11780  1 irtty_sir
gameport               11020  2 snd_cs46xx
snd_rawmidi            21376  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_cs46xx
snd_seq_device          7564  5 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
rtc_cmos               10144  0
snd_ac97_codec         96800  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_cs46xx
rtc_core               15132  1 rtc_cmos
rtc_lib                 3328  1 rtc_core
ac97_bus                2432  1 snd_ac97_codec
i2c_piix4               8592  0
snd_pcm                75268  4 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              20872  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
i2c_core               21268  1 i2c_piix4
snd                    54052  13 snd_seq_midi,snd_intel8x0,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
martian_dev            23700  0
soundcore               7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8712  3 snd_intel8x0,snd_cs46xx,snd_pcm
8139too                23936  0
mii                     5376  1 8139too
shpchp                 29716  0
pci_hotplug            27040  1 shpchp
parport_pc             36036  0
nsc_ircc               16400  0
parport                31724  1 parport_pc
irda                  109112  2 sir_dev,nsc_ircc
video                  17296  0
crc_ccitt               2688  1 irda
output                  3456  1 video
thinkpad_acpi          57344  0
rfkill                  8856  1 thinkpad_acpi
led_class               4484  1 thinkpad_acpi
nvram                   7948  1 thinkpad_acpi
evdev                  10144  0
[code]
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
[/code]
[/code]

[/code]
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2010, 12:31:26 pm »

Now open a terminal as root and type:

dhcpcd eth0

Then try this to check for an Ip address:

ifconfig eth0

If there is an address then try:

ping yahoo.com

If there is a response you are connected to the internet.

Bigpaws
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2010, 02:32:58 pm »

 Nope. That went nowhere. Gave a response when I entered yahoo.com of no address or server found.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2010, 03:10:13 pm »

Just to help explain bigpaws steps:

dhcpcd eth0 - basically requests an IP address from the dhcp server (typically a router, but not always).  The address that is provided is a local IP address (typically in the range 192.168.xxx.xxx).

ifconfig eth0 - should list the details of your network device (eth0) and in those details it should list your IP address (inet addr:), and it will likely be a 192.168.xxx.xxx address.

ping www.yahoo.com - just tests the network device's ability to communicate outside your local network using domain names, which assumes 1) that you are part of the local network, and 2) that you have a functioning domain name server.

After you have attempted the 'dhcpcd eth0' command (as root), does 'ifconfig eth0' indicate a inet addr? If it does, please indicate the address (e.g. 192.168.1.100).

The next step would be to text local network connectivity by trying to ping your ?router? (ping 192.168.X.1). If success, then this indicates you are part of local network. (X would need to be replaced by your correct local address number)

If that's successful then you could try pinging google's ip address (ping 72.14.213.147).  If success, this indicates you can access outside your local network via IP.

If that's successful then you could try pinging google's dns address (ping www.google.com).  If success, this indicates you can access outside your local network using DNS addresses.
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2010, 03:14:31 pm »

Another command you might try is: ifconfig etho up
This should activate interface eth0.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2010, 04:01:17 pm »

Just retried to to see what would happen. Nothing happened when I clicked both buttons.

See if this helps:
As root, make a backup of /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Then open /etc/X11/xorg.conf with a text editor. Find the section

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Mouse0"

and so forth. Add this line in that section:
    Option "ChordMiddle"

Save the file. Exit and restart X.

If that doesn't work, try this line:
    Option "Emulate3Buttons"

Save, exit, restart X.

It's been many years since I've had a mouse without a middle button or mouse wheel that worked, so I can't vouch that these will work with your mouse. Let us know.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #24 on: March 26, 2010, 05:20:17 pm »

 ifconfig etho up returned: ERROR while getting interface flags: no such device.
 dhcpd doesn't return any info, guess it just does what it's supposed to and waits.
 ifconfig eth0 says at the bottom: Interupt:11 Base address:0x1400
 and pinging yahoo went nowhere, as you can imagine.
 
 I don't think the mouse is the problem, as I'm using an external mouse and not the one on the touchpad.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2010, 09:39:40 pm »

Make sure that eth0 is still showing (ifconfig eth0)

Then try this as root:

dhcpcd -d eth0

There should be some output.

The -d means to output informational messages to the console.

Are you addresses assigned by your router or do you specify them?
Bigpaws
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2010, 06:37:38 am »

 dhcpcd -d eth0 gave dhcpcd: MAC address = 00:c0:26:b0:d0:18

 I don't know whether the router assigns addresses or not. As far as I know, I'd say that the answer is no, it doesn't. I spent the better part of last week dealing with the router, as I had to reconfigure it (Linksys wrt54gv6=junk!). I've used it for a few years, but had it direct wired without having it set up for wireless. When I reset the router I lost all the settings and had to reconfigure it. For the most part, it's settings right now are factory default settings. Auto dhcp, MTU is auto, MAC address cloning is turned on.
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2010, 11:29:04 am »

 Just for the thrill of doing it, I downloaded the Realtek drivers and put it in the home directory, then opened it with Midnight Commander. It said that it was installed to the home directory (which for all I know is like installing a motorcycle in my bathroom shower, but I'm sure if it is someone here will straighten me out.)
 I went back over this thread and retried all the commands, results were pretty much same as before, but when I tried to open Firefox, again the "link" LED on the dongel stayed lit (in fact it's lit right now, for some reason..?), but the "activity" LED never lights up indicating that it's hooked up with a server and is getting a signal. I pinged 192.168.1.1 and it always returns "could not find server at 192.168.1.1"
 I've used Midnight Commander to open both ndiswrapper and the Realtek drivers, but as I said, I have no clue if they're "working as intended" or just "opened and sitting there," like bad wedding gifts left at the curb while the couple goes off on a honeymoon.   
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1253



« Reply #28 on: March 27, 2010, 02:22:06 pm »

Motorcycle in the shower? Perish the thought! Any true Harley owner knows it belongs in the living room!  Grin
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
mike99
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2010, 09:42:28 am »

WOW! What a great thread! Great info here, including the printout. I forgot though...so the eth0 listed...is it from the motherboard port, or the USB that he/you installed?  I have a few Txx Models. Does the ethernet port show up in the BIOS? It should give you "It's" addr there. Then you could get to the Router Admin with another PC and see if it shows up there. At the same time look to see that the Router is using dhcp so that it will broadcast an ipaddr back. Of course- I'm thinking this is not the only machine you have.
If you get to a point where you want to add a WiFi card. "Atheros Chip" cards have worked best for me using different Distros.
(T23 & R40) On the mouse= why not work on one point ata time? Use the trackpoint and the 2 buttons to start with. And, since your Laptop is "Older", you may want to start with an "Older" distro version like 5.9/5.8 Standard. Right here I am using Ver 5.9 Lite (not the live Ver. however) and works good ona P550 W/192MB ram and the infamouse intel 810 chipset. It's the older machine at work.
*Since you mentioned Win98 and the Yr.2000, you might even go for even older version like 5.0/5.1 and use IceWM for a more modern look. mike
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!