VectorLinux
August 22, 2014, 11:22:58 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: getting pc card ethernet working on old thinkpad-realtek 8139  (Read 5567 times)
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1258



« Reply #45 on: April 03, 2010, 08:53:54 pm »

There comes a time when the headache just isn't worth it, and taking the offending piece of hardware out back and putting a few rounds through it is well worth the satisfaction  and stress relief it provides.  Grin
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #46 on: April 04, 2010, 06:15:58 am »

 Yeah. I'm wondering why this is such a tough nut to crack.
  Anyone have any info on un-ndiswraperring a bad install?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #47 on: April 04, 2010, 11:47:48 am »

It is a tough nut to crack since you have a conflict. That being more than
likely a kernel =/> 2.6.24 ( You can check by using uname -r). Ndiswrapper and
the kernel are trying to use the same device.

The support for the wireless card is built into the kernel since the above noted kernel.

First uninstall ndiswrapper, a howto:

http://www.camsmac.com/unndis.html

Then you can either use the kernel module which I believe should start after
you remove ndiswrapper.

Or you can use the serial monkey installation:

http://alien.slackbook.org/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=slackware:rt2xxx

As far as the 8139too There are two modules for that chipset since the device
changed. There were reported problems with both modules being available so
one of them iirc 8139 was blacklisted. You can change the blacklist iirc is is in
/etc/modeprobe.d/blacklist.conf.

HTH

Bigpaws

Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #48 on: April 04, 2010, 06:32:47 pm »

 Y'know...like I said, I'm a little slow.
 I read the instructions..(first time for everything!)
 I (attempted) to follow them..deleted the drivers..deleted ndiswrapper..checked to see if they were gone..had to find out how to find the files..they were there but they were empty, so maybe it worked and maybe it didn't...
 Doenloaded and untarred the driver with midnightcommander..saw that MC still showed the old driver..searched online to see if I could use MC to delete the files..actually got MC to open the file, found that I could delete stuff by just holding down on the "delete" button.....
 3 Hours, maybe.
 Then it hit me. What the * was I doing?!!!!!!
 
 Grabed my gparted live cd. Vector as I knew it was gone (literally!) in 60 seconds. A few minutes more and I've got a brand spankin' fresh install all waiting for me to * up.
 Where do I start?
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #49 on: April 04, 2010, 07:07:35 pm »

 HOLY CRAP! IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 I reinstalled, and in fact had shut down after the first reboot. I thought, what the heck, try it and see. I went to Wicd.....it found my signal!!!!!
 I'm typing this from the Thinkpad, online!
 Wish I knew this a week ago, but hey.
 Better late than never!


 
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #50 on: April 04, 2010, 07:36:33 pm »

Sometimes the easiest answer can elude us.

I am glad you got it going. Now you get to spend time learning
even more.

Bigpaws
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!