VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 06:00:43 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: skype for Vector linux  (Read 3395 times)
vectorlankamp
Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: March 24, 2010, 03:40:39 am »

will Skype (or something identical) become available via Gslapt

this is usefull to make phonecalls over the internet
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1259



« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 05:20:31 am »

Until someone does, you can always give it a whirl yourself.

http://www.skype.com/download/skype/linux/
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2010, 10:09:05 pm »

Here is some more information:

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=10892

Check out stretchedthin's wonderful 'how to' at http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/11.Network-apps/skype/skype-static.htm for 'step-by-step' instructions.
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2010, 11:19:31 am »

Hi,

     I followed the opensourcebistro tutorial for installing Skype but it says nothing about what to do with the skype.conf file. An online script says: cp skype.conf /etc/dbus-1/system.d. Should I do that too?

Thanks.

Gus
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2010, 07:58:40 pm »

If I search for skype in gslapt I get  skype version 2.0.0.72-i586-1vl60. This is what
I installed and it shows that it is installed and it is working just fine. It does not
show the location.

/var/log/packages/skype-2.0.0.72-i586-1vl60
/var/log/scripts/skype-2.0.0.72-i586-1vl60

I know someone said he has never seen skype in gslapt so how did mine get there?
« Last Edit: August 05, 2010, 08:01:38 pm by Pita » Logged
gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2010, 06:16:29 am »

I had the GSlAPT version but I like the new one better because of the screen sharing ability.

Still, is there any harm in putting skype.conf in /etc/dbus-1/system.d ?

Gus
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2010, 05:26:27 pm »

I had the GSlAPT version but I like the new one better because of the screen sharing ability.

Still, is there any harm in putting skype.conf in /etc/dbus-1/system.d ?

Gus

It is in my box and I did not even know it, therefore, I assume it does no harm.
Logged
gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2010, 02:48:45 pm »

Quote
It is in my box and I did not even know it, therefore, I assume it does no harm.

Cool. I'll put it there, then. Thanks, PITA.

Gus
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!