VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 06:28:01 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL6.0 KDE-Classic-Live Beta 1 feedback.  (Read 2658 times)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« on: April 04, 2010, 06:05:24 pm »

Thank you for testing. Please post your experiences and opinions below.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2010, 06:11:07 pm by nightflier » Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2010, 10:18:27 pm »

Can't get it burned. md5 checks out. iso mounts ok.

May be machine-specific, having to do with dma on via. Posting here just in case it's confirmed.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
beranger
Member
*
Posts: 13



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 11:22:44 am »

Happens to run very well on Acer Travelmate 5310, with BCM4311 wireless (WPA2-Personal), Intel video.
I've put in on an USB stick.
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 08:35:30 pm »

Got it burned. Dirty drive meets cheap medium. 4x write worked.

I'm surprised to find the speed of a live bearable on this machine, especially with KDE, but it certainly is.

I've played with it a fair bit. Only problem I found was that wicd wouldn't scan or connect. Opening preferences, I found the "wireless interface" box blank. Set it to wlan0 and it works fine. Using it now.
 
Auto-detected resolution is 1024x768, when 1440x900 is available. Chrome9 with lcd panel is known to be flaky, especially on this machine. I wouldn't worry about it. Last I checked, installed Ubuntu could get 1440x900, but live just 1024x768. Maybe not room there for drivers.

I'm sure there're enough tweaks possible so that your great-grandkids couldn't do them all, but here's one suggestion: When starting KSirc for the first time in the session, prompt for nick and server. Haven't used KSirc before, but I'm sure nick can be passed as a param. Also, a server list would be helpful, or just default to freenode.

When final is ready, I'll have my drive clean and quality CDRs available. I'll burn and pass around a few copies. Since it runs here, I know many can use it to jump off the hardware upgrade cycle for a while. I think this is just the flavor to impress them.

Me, tho, I'm back to light. Will pop this in now and again for test.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2010, 09:58:52 am »

I've played with it a fair bit. Only problem I found was that wicd wouldn't scan or connect. Opening preferences, I found the "wireless interface" box blank. Set it to wlan0 and it works fine. Using it now.

Nice catch.  Smiley

- Note to self: Modify vmklive to reset /etc/wicd/manager-settings.conf to default values. -
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2010, 10:09:46 pm »

To say it first I do not use KDE.

Booted from the first option of autodetect. Display settings were not put to
1280x1024, however, HorizSync were set correctly.

As for the time zone it did not ask me and was set to some US zone.
Set to my time zone which when later rebooting to my box was not set instead
again set to a US zone.

Sound was absent. Had to do alsaconf. Did alsamixer as root and still no sound
as user since PCM volume in user was not up. Corrected it and there was sound
with flash playing.

Wired Internet conncetion was detected on its own. Will try it with wireless on HP 2133
later.

I am amazed by the speed barely noticed a difference from my box.

Added a user with VASMCC. Worked. Added a user from console with adduser and
was not registered in groups and no sound unlike in Live-Light.

Not being familiar with KDE I could not test much but what I did worked like webkam.
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2010, 07:44:15 pm »

Tested on HP2133 which runs on VL-6-STD.

Wireless was not found as already reported above.  Made it work.

Firefox crashes when trying to open flash.

Sound is only an unintelligible bad noise. Could not get it to work.

Webcam just freezes and showing some colored lines.

Timezone again arbitrarily set to somewhere and even changed in the BIOS
that when booting into the homebox this wrong time shows there as well.

On this system it runs noticeably slow.
Logged
TLM
Member
*
Posts: 88


« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2010, 10:16:42 pm »

Works fine on my hardware:

Biostar K8-VGA-M
Seagate SATA
AMD Athlon64 3400+
NVIDIA GeForce FX5200

But no propritary driver offered for my NVIDIA card. Henceforth the desktop and all windows are offset to the right about one-quarter of an inch. This is always a problem with this particular card if there is no propritary driver. Also cannot fullscreen videos from Hulu without it. The NVIDIA driver really isn't necessary if this Live version of Classic VL is to be primarily a demo disk. And understandably it would take a lot of space to include all of the propritary drivers.
Logged

Particle board should be outlawed.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!