VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 09:18:43 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: SOHO BETA4-4.1 bug reports and observations  (Read 8106 times)
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #45 on: March 31, 2010, 03:59:07 am »

Received the dbus error again when wicd was starting up. Strange thing is, there's really nothing in wicd.log that shows anything going awry.

The connection is good, so I suspect it has something to do with the widget appearing in the panel.

Got it again. Instead of rebooting, I just left things alone. Widget shows that I'm not connected, however, I am connected. So it's definitely something connected to the widget and the UI.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #46 on: March 31, 2010, 04:51:01 am »

I also haven't (so far) found any way of setting things like fonts and icons for GTK applications, which is less than useful, since menu entries for most GTK apps are much bigger than the settings I have for native KDE apps.



Figured this one out, haven't tested it yet. From the KDE FAQ:

Quote
13.3.   
How can I configure the style and fonts of GTK applications within KDE ?
   
The simplest way to achieve this is to download and compile the gtk-qt theme engine from http://www.freedesktop.org/Software/gtk-qt. This theme engine makes your GTK applications look like your KDE widget style by calling functions from Qt™ instead of drawing the styles itself. Once the theme engine has been installed, there will be a KDE Control Center module under Appearance & Themes->GTK Styles and Fonts.

Edit -- OK. I did it. Nothing changed in Control Center.. I'm beginning to develop an extreme dislike for KDE 4.4.. **banging head on desk**  Ow!
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 04:58:27 am by retired1af » Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
TLM
Member
*
Posts: 88


« Reply #47 on: March 31, 2010, 07:35:25 am »

After some testing with Beta441, I have went back and installed Beta 3. It works on my hardware and works well. However I see that a new release of KDE has just been made available:

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Available-Now-KDE-Software-Compilation-4-4-2-138859.shtml

Waiting for a new release of VL now. We'll get there!!
Logged

Particle board should be outlawed.
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #48 on: March 31, 2010, 05:57:09 pm »

Wanted to watch a flick, fired up VLC, selected DVD and it promptly died. Tried from console and received the following. Insufficient resources??!!

Code:
root:# vlc
VLC media player 1.0.5 Goldeneye
LibVLC has detected an unusable buggy GNU/libc version.
Please update to version 2.8 or newer.
[0x811b2f0] inhibit interface error: Failed to connect to the D-Bus session daemon: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.                             
[0x811b2f0] main interface error: no suitable interface module
[0x804caa0] main libvlc error: interface "inhibit,none" initialization failed
[0x8114838] main interface error: no interface module matched "globalhotkeys,none"                                                                               
[0x8114838] main interface error: no suitable interface module
[0x804caa0] main libvlc error: interface "globalhotkeys,none" initialization failed                                                                               
[0x804caa0] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 4.1.3
libdvdread: Using libdvdcss version 1.2.10 for DVD access
libdvdnav: DVD Title: SPOTLIGHT_D1
libdvdnav: DVD Serial Number: 313599c3
libdvdnav: DVD Title (Alternative):
libdvdnav: Unable to find map file '/root/.dvdnav/SPOTLIGHT_D1.map'
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00f00000. Regions: 1 2 3 4

libdvdread: Attempting to retrieve all CSS keys
libdvdread: This can take a _long_ time, please be patient

libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.VOB at 0x00000140
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_0.VOB at 0x0000023f
libdvdread: Elapsed time 1
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_1.VOB at 0x0000588d
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_02_0.VOB at 0x0024b3eb
libdvdread: Elapsed time 1
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_02_1.VOB at 0x0024b4a6
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_03_0.VOB at 0x00256134
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_03_1.VOB at 0x002562c1
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_04_0.VOB at 0x0025639e
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_04_1.VOB at 0x00256459
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_05_0.VOB at 0x0025822c
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_05_1.VOB at 0x002582e7
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_06_0.VOB at 0x00260c5a
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_06_1.VOB at 0x00260d15
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Found 6 VTS's
libdvdread: Elapsed time 2
[0x8180aa0] main input error: ES_OUT_RESET_PCR called
[0x8180aa0] main input error: ES_OUT_RESET_PCR called
[0x81dd690] a52 decoder: A/52 channels:2 samplerate:48000 bitrate:192000
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 1
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 1
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 1
No accelerated IMDCT transform found
[????????] x11 video output error: X11 request 132.19 failed with error code 11:
 BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
X Error of failed request:  BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  132 (XVideo)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 ()
  Serial number of failed request:  101
  Current serial number in output stream:  102
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #49 on: March 31, 2010, 06:04:37 pm »

I should also add that I've never been able to get MPlayer to work with a DVD as well.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
TLM
Member
*
Posts: 88


« Reply #50 on: March 31, 2010, 08:19:13 pm »

I should also add that I've never been able to get MPlayer to work with a DVD as well.
I've had nearly flawless results with xine. Usually all you need from the repos is xine-ui. libdvdcss and everything else needed seems to already be in VL.
Logged

Particle board should be outlawed.
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #51 on: March 31, 2010, 08:22:27 pm »

Yeah... I've pretty much used xine from day one, but we are "beta testing", so everything that's borked gets reported.  Grin
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #52 on: March 31, 2010, 08:42:38 pm »

**sigh** I don't know why I'm getting these errors now.

Tried to run xine and received:

Code:
This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  132 (XVideo)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 ()
  Serial number of failed request:  2074
  Current serial number in output stream:  2075

How in tarnation can I not have sufficient resources?

Code:
top - 21:44:49 up 22 min,  3 users,  load average: 0.19, 0.19, 0.17
Tasks: 132 total,   2 running, 129 sleeping,   0 stopped,   1 zombie
Cpu0  :  1.7%us,  1.0%sy,  0.0%ni, 97.3%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
Cpu1  : 17.9%us,  3.7%sy,  0.0%ni, 77.7%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.7%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   3498596k total,   836672k used,  2661924k free,    45904k buffers
Swap:  1951888k total,        0k used,  1951888k free,   458304k cached
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #53 on: April 01, 2010, 08:27:29 pm »

Think I have the wicd root password problem solved if somebody with this problem would please try the following:
login as root or su to root then edit /etc/rc.d/rc.local and add to the end of the file:
------------------------------------
if [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd ]; then
echo "starting the wicd daemon...."
/etc/rc.d/rc.wicd start
fi
-----------------------------------
seems the daemon is not started at boot only starts when the client is activated when logging in to your account so you need root permissions to do it. Now reboot let me know if it works for you........and the ugly ask for root password goes away.

Thanks,
Vec
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #54 on: April 01, 2010, 08:39:33 pm »

Hallelujah! That #$)(*&#@#)(*#$ password went away! Works perfectly! I should also add that the connection was connected MUCH faster as well.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #55 on: April 02, 2010, 03:59:48 am »

Works here too, thanks.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #56 on: April 02, 2010, 10:40:33 am »

And here.

A few other points. Every time I open a Konsole, I'm getting the greeting messages twice:

Code:
You are working as redmond
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
You are working as redmond
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
localuser:root being added to access control list
t-61soho:/~
redmond:$

Not sure whats causing that - I'll have to work my way through the scripts to see what is going on.

Dragon player will produce sound, but no video, at least not on .avi files. Haven't tried any other formats yet.

I've managed to get CPU scaling working, but only by the old fashioned method:

Code:
echo ondemand > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo 40 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold

Smiley The CPU is now running at 800MHz instead of 2GHz, but KDE is still convinced that it has no scaling capabilities.

Desktop is really annoying. I attempted to put things where I wanted them, then used 'lock in place' in the hopes of keeping them there. Next time I touched the System Settings applet, the icons moved back to their original positions, and wouldn't let me move them - after all, they were locked in place. Grrr!

Paul.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!