VectorLinux
July 30, 2014, 07:03:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
Author Topic: SOHO RC1 bug reports and observations  (Read 17932 times)
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #45 on: April 16, 2010, 01:19:25 am »

I created the symlink and had the same results as MikeCindi. Digikam starts but does not display any photos. There are many error messages in the terminal when it's running. I get those with just about every KDE program but some run fine anyway, so I don't know how significant they are. But Digikam isn't working.
--GrannyGeek

Sad I'm getting the same errors with the original library in place:

Code:
redmond:$ Time elapsed: 161 ms
Time elapsed: 7 ms
Model: Time elapsed: 197 ms
TextureColorizer: Time elapsed: 68 ms
Time elapsed: 8 ms
Time elapsed: 13 ms
Model: Time elapsed: 28 ms
digikam(4035): couldn't create slave: "Unable to create io-slave:
klauncher said: Error loading 'kio_digikamdates'.
"
digikam(4035)/digikam (core) Digikam::AlbumManager::slotDatesJobResult: Failed to list dates
digikam(4035): couldn't create slave: "Unable to create io-slave:
klauncher said: Error loading 'kio_digikamalbums'.
"
digikam(4035)/digikam (core) Digikam::ImageAlbumModel::slotResult: Failed to list url:  "Could not start process Unable to create io-slave:
klauncher said: Error loading 'kio_digikamalbums'.

It appears to run fine, but doesn't see any images at all. Except through the file manager interface, which isn't a lot of help.....

Paul.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #46 on: April 16, 2010, 05:38:29 am »

dweeberkitty try this one and anyone else that uses openoffice:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/test/openoffice/openoffice.org-3.2.0_eng_US-i586-4vl60.txz
please let me know asap!!!

Installed on my KDE-Classic. Casual use only, but looks good so far.
Logged
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #47 on: April 16, 2010, 06:52:57 am »

Quote
Theoretically what version of Slackware is this new VL supposed to be compatible with?
The OpenOffice package I'm using right now is from the Beta3 discs. But that is an older version of OOo. I will try to find a package that works but the ones I've downloaded from the web for slackware 13 don't run.
dweeberkitty try this one and anyone else that uses openoffice:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/test/openoffice/openoffice.org-3.2.0_eng_US-i586-4vl60.txz
please let me know asap!!!

Thanks,
Vec


This OpenOffice package works for me. I can edit equations without getting errors. It also matches the theme. Good job!
Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #48 on: April 16, 2010, 04:31:41 pm »

The OOo "update" works well here but it did remove all my setup info from the previous OOo (name, address, memory usage, etc.).

I have noted with the past several releases that the System Profiler and Benchmark has a lot of blank dialogs on start up (hundreds?) and once you get past them you run the tests but get lots more blank dialogs. Finally one will have text in it: Invalid source position for horizontal gradient." The console output is:
Code:
mscott:$ hardinfo                                                                                                             
/home/mscott/.gtkrc-2.0:1: Unable to find include file: "$HOME/.themes/qt4/gtk-2.0/gtkrc"                                     
/home/mscott/.themes/qt4/gtk-2.0/gtkrc:746: Murrine configuration option "hilight_ratio" will be deprecated in future releases. Please use "highlight_shade" instead.                                                                                       
sh: -c: option requires an argument                                                                                           
Invalid token: [,][44]                                                                                                       
Invalid token: [,][44]
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #49 on: April 16, 2010, 07:32:23 pm »

Quote
This OpenOffice package works for me. I can edit equations without getting errors. It also matches the theme. Good job!
Hooray!!! one down one to go............I think digikam needs a new qt4 build as it relies on sqlite and mysql for a database for the albums which seems to be where the errors occur, So I'm trying that wish me luck (and by the way building qt4 is almost as much fun as watching grass grow...........lol and twice as slow)
be back in a week after qt4 builds...................... Grin

cheers,
Vec
Logged
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #50 on: April 17, 2010, 07:53:32 am »

I really appreciate your efforts and time in this vector. I would like to help more than the little that I do (testing and trying to break something)...just not sure that I'm competent to develop.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 399


« Reply #51 on: April 19, 2010, 11:50:37 pm »

Bonjour!
Still testing on rc1,tried ralink 2500 chip based 2 wifi usb not working yet while it's supposed to be running with
the in-kernel rt2x00 drivers.tried "modprobe rt2500usb, modprobe rt2X00usb" still no function of wifi.
here's output  of "" lsusb"
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 14b2:3c02 Atheros Communications Inc C54RU WLAN
Bus 001 Device 009: ID 2001:3c00 D-Link Corp. [hex] DWL-G122 802.11g rev. B1 [ralink]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Logged
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #52 on: April 21, 2010, 11:22:52 am »

Quote
Hooray!!! one down one to go............
Just to keep everyone updated I did find the problem with digikam and it was bizarre to say the least.
Seems the digikamalbum lib links itself to a small lib called libgomp which is only available in the gcc compiler package. Our gcc which is version 4.2.3 has a known problem with libgomp in that it will not open as a shared lib even tho it looks like one. This problem is fixed in later versions of gcc. Well, I took the scary step of upgrading our gcc to version 4.4.3 and prayed that it did not break everything. To my pleasant suprised the system survived nicely and digikam now displays pictures as it should. The next order of business was to upgrade libjpeg from 6 to 8a as the latest digikam will not build without it. That was scary too as libjpeg has its hooks into about everything that is gui. With that done I rebuilt qt4.6.2 kdelibs kdebase gtk+2 kdegraphics and kdemultimedia. The end result seems solid and fast so I think we are almost out of the woods on this. I am going to rebuild a few more things to be on the safe side and then I'll release as rc2. As you can see being a distro developer has it's interesting moments.............lol

Cheers,
Vec
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #53 on: April 21, 2010, 07:02:37 pm »

Vec,
I can hardly wait for RC2! It'll be interesting because I'm using XFce in SOHO as my desktop environment, not KDE, and most of the programs I use aren't KDE programs. If they survive all your excellent remaking, I'll be even more eager for the final release.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #54 on: April 21, 2010, 07:04:42 pm »

Very encouraging and very exciting. I'm with GG about rc2 and eventually SOHO final.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 399


« Reply #55 on: April 21, 2010, 11:40:55 pm »

Quote
Still testing on rc1,tried ralink 2500 chip based 2 wifi usb not working yet while it's supposed to be running with
the in-kernel rt2x00 drivers.tried "modprobe rt2500usb, modprobe rt2X00usb" still no function of wifi.
here's output  of "" lsusb"
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 14b2:3c02 Atheros Communications Inc C54RU WLAN
Bus 001 Device 009: ID 2001:3c00 D-Link Corp. [hex] DWL-G122 802.11g rev. B1 [ralink]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

here's more:
-----------------------------------------
lsmod | grep rt2500
rt2500usb              20352  0
rt2x00usb               9660  1 rt2500usb
rt2x00lib              27548  2 rt2500usb,rt2x00usb
-----------------------------------------
now the above two ralink2500 chip  based usb wifi  can scan the network, but couln't get connected , it prompted "bad password" in the end..
Logged
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #56 on: April 21, 2010, 11:58:41 pm »

modprobe rt2500usb
iwconfig
ifconfig wlan0 up

then configure hope that helps
Logged
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 399


« Reply #57 on: April 23, 2010, 12:29:14 am »

Bonjour!Vector,
Quote
modprobe rt2500usb
iwconfig
ifconfig wlan0 up

then configure hope that helps

tried that, connection problems remains, two ralink2500 usb wifis ended at "failed to connect,bad password"(for WEP router) in WICD.
under knoppix 6.2.1 no problem with connections for those two wifi usbs, while knoppix 6.2.1 's kernel's 2.6.32.6
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1253



« Reply #58 on: April 24, 2010, 06:38:00 pm »

This is just strange. I installed gxine and VLC from the repro and am unable to play DvDs (mplayer has never worked for me in any distro!).

For gxine I get:

Code:
bodacious:/~
retired1:$ gxine
params.c:OpenConfFile() - Unable to open configuration file "/home/retired1/.smb/smb.conf":
        No such file or directory
params.c:OpenConfFile() - Unable to open configuration file "/home/retired1/.smb/smb.conf.append":
        No such file or directory

(gxine:4121): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_style_detach: assertion `style->attach_count > 0' failed
The program 'gxine' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)'.
  (Details: serial 405 error_code 11 request_code 132 minor_code 19)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
   option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
bodacious:/~
retired1:$

And for VLC I get:

Code:
bodacious:/~
retired1:$ vlc
VLC media player 1.0.5 Goldeneye
LibVLC has detected an unusable buggy GNU/libc version.
Please update to version 2.8 or newer.
[0x81beec0] main interface error: no interface module matched "globalhotkeys,none"
[0x81beec0] main interface error: no suitable interface module
[0x804caa0] main libvlc error: interface "globalhotkeys,none" initialization failed
[0x804caa0] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 4.1.3
libdvdread: Using libdvdcss version 1.2.10 for DVD access
libdvdnav: DVD Title: LOONEY_TUNES_SC_V4_D1
libdvdnav: DVD Serial Number: 356a1cc2
libdvdnav: DVD Title (Alternative):
libdvdnav: Unable to find map file '/home/retired1/.dvdnav/LOONEY_TUNES_SC_V4_D1.map'
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00f00000. Regions: 1 2 3 4

libdvdread: Attempting to retrieve all CSS keys
libdvdread: This can take a _long_ time, please be patient

libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.VOB at 0x00000145
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_0.VOB at 0x00000242
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_1.VOB at 0x000005cc
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_02_0.VOB at 0x0021054a
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_02_1.VOB at 0x00210605
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_03_0.VOB at 0x0021ba67
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_03_1.VOB at 0x0021bbee
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_04_0.VOB at 0x0021bccb
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_04_1.VOB at 0x0021bd86
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_05_0.VOB at 0x0021db8f
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_05_1.VOB at 0x0021dc4a
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Found 5 VTS's
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
[0x82cc920] main input error: ES_OUT_RESET_PCR called
[0x82cc920] main input error: ES_OUT_RESET_PCR called
[0x82f95a0] a52 decoder: A/52 channels:2 samplerate:48000 bitrate:192000
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 1
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 1
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 1
No accelerated IMDCT transform found
[????????] x11 video output error: X11 request 132.19 failed with error code 11:
 BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
X Error of failed request:  BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  132 (XVideo)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 ()
  Serial number of failed request:  101
  Current serial number in output stream:  102
bodacious:/~
retired1:$
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1253



« Reply #59 on: April 25, 2010, 08:25:33 pm »

I've taken the drastic step of blowing off the entire USB drive and am reinstalling everything from scratch. There was far too much wasted space, so I've resized everything to where I can now get 3 distro's on it. First up is 6 Standard and SOHO 6 RC1. Almost finished with Standard updates and will then go into SOHO to see if things are working any better as far as DVDs are concerned.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!