VectorLinux
October 23, 2014, 12:14:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ethernet printer (don't work) on eth0, internet on eth1  (Read 1215 times)
matpaz
Member
*
Posts: 11


« on: April 13, 2010, 09:44:24 am »

Hello,

I' going crazy. And i lost 1 day without any solution.

I installed VL6 on hp DC5100 (pentim4, 2GB ram, nvidia256MB card, 1 std eth0 on mobo, + 1 D-link on PCI)
I'm not able to make the lanier 2132 (ricoh aficio 3200), it's a network printer.
Note that i have on the 2nd hdd winxp, and it works, so no hw problem.
the eth0 is Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet, std on mobo, where the printer is connected,
the eth1 is Ethernet controller: D-Link System Inc RTL8139 Ethernet (rev 10) for internet

following some extra info:
$ netstat -r
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth1
loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U         0 0          0 lo
default         alicegate.homen 0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
root:# ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0f:fe:49:e3:37 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:17
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:01:ee:06:8b 
          BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:171 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:163 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:17773 (17.3 KiB)  TX bytes:19994 (19.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:18 Base address:0x3000
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
root:# lspci
05:09.0 Ethernet controller: D-Link System Inc RTL8139 Ethernet (rev 10)
40:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 01)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
root:# dmesg | grep eth0
eth0: Tigon3 [partno(BCM95751) rev 4001 PHY(5750)] (PCI Express) 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet 00:0f:fe:49:e3:37
eth0: RXcsums[1] LinkChgREG[0] MIirq[0] ASF[0] WireSpeed[1] TSOcap[1]
eth0: dma_rwctrl[76180000] dma_mask[64-bit]
tg3: eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex.
tg3: eth0: Flow control is off for TX and off for RX.
I tried all possible CUPS setting, with the correct PPD file, changing IP on the printer too, but nothing happens
no errors but no connection.

I think there is something wrong but what:
- no base address, shown in ifconfig ...or
- wicd don't permit to use two different network cards? and in this case what i have to do?

Any help or idea will be much appreciated. THANKS
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 09:55:59 am »

It does look like your ethernet cards don't have IP addresses. I would take wicd out of the equation, configure the NICs manually, and make sure I have working network connections before doing anything else.
Logged
matpaz
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2010, 12:25:29 am »

Hello,

 Thanks for remind me this. So i setup ifconfig eth0 192.168.10.2 (the port where i attached the printer), i recheck the printwer ip = 192.168.10.10 subnetmask 255.255.255.0, but if i ping 198.162.10.10 (the printer) it says destination unreachable, (if i ping 192.168.10.2 the port eth0 is ok), even with other system eg telnet the 192.168.10.10 is unreachable, and all possible address setting in cups don't work, but if shut down, and start the other disk with winxp it works, so the printer ip is correct.

I really don't know what should be, any ideas? THANKS
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2010, 03:36:35 am »

Do you have Internet access through eth1 while doing this? If not, try swapping the cables.
Logged
matpaz
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2010, 11:22:05 am »

Hello,

   Problem solved!! At the beginning of the problem, i changed the subnet mask on the printer from 255.255.0.0 to 255.255.255.0, cause i tought for the printer IP (192.168.10.10) should be correct, but nothing changed.  After your post, Nightflier, i changed the rc.inet0 setting disabling dhcp, and setting eth0 IP=192.168.10.2, subnet mask 255.255.255.0, instead of using ifconfig, (note that i used the same setting of eth0 port i have on win xp also for VL6) but the problem remained. After this, i had to use the win xp partition, and the printer too,  so i changed the subnet mask address in the printer manager software using the correct one (in win xp),  and as usual everything was working. After rebooting, and switching on VL6, pinging the printer gave me an answear!! and in CUPS, in the dropdown menu to set printer address, the printer was jus present and totally recognized!!!

I think, cause such machine is an HP DC5100, with win xp preinstalled, and eth0 (the mainboard network port), don't accept any sort of connection to different addresses if not set from win xp, or the printer don't phisically change it's own addresses if not changed from win xp (even if set from printer panel)....but i'm not sure! Is it possible???

THANKS for your suggestion. bye for now.
 
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 11:31:24 am by matpaz » Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2010, 11:55:49 am »

I have a LaserJet P2055dn that is connected through Ethernet to my router. I'm not familiar with the DC5100. However, I think configuration for printers on Ethernet can usually be reached through a browser. Type in the printer's IP address and you should get a configuration page. It works for my LJ P2055dn. In your case that would be
http://192.168.10.10
if I'm reading the printer's address conrrectly. You shouldn't need to do anything through Windows. Let me know if it works.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!