VectorLinux
December 18, 2014, 06:56:14 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: slapt update notifier -the current state of stability?  (Read 569 times)
liveware

« on: April 18, 2010, 11:50:12 am »

I'm a Vector beginner, and I've never used a distro where you had to take control of your updates and patches, so I don't have much experience or knowledge of doing it the manual way. I'm trying to learn what I need to do to keep my Vector 6.0 system patched. I've read this page: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/docs/vl60/manuals/vl6_slaptget_en.html

quote:
NOTE:VectorLinux 6.0 now includes by default the small daemon "slapt-update-notifier". This utility will check the VectorLinux repository and will pop-up a small notifier in the bottom right applet section of either KDE or xfce to inform the user when updates are available. If clicked gslapt will be launched. Please ensure that you do wish to do this. Although VL packagers are very careful at their job there is no guarantee that software updates will not break your system. You have been warned!
-end quote

I've read multiple places that suggest danger could ensue upon upgrading something. Its general computer knowledge that an un-patched system is vunerable also. To put it simply- Which is more dangerous: an unpatched Vector 6.0 installation, or blindly and routinely using the auto-updater?

retired1af
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2010, 05:15:06 pm »