VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 04:21:42 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: installation help (new to linux)  (Read 1402 times)
deftone_75
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: April 22, 2010, 03:58:28 am »

Hello all. I am brand new to linux. I am trying to install from cd (ebay), vector linux. It is my  kids dell, an older gx150 with pentium 3 1.0 ghz, 512mb ram and a clean 40 gb hard drive. Also a 64 mb video card. The disc loads and goes through the motions, checks monitor size, etc, then just quits. After screen that says "loading installer" the screen will go black, and everything stops. No loading, no rebooting, no error messages. What am I doing wrong? I am a mac guy (hate windows). I am very computer savvy but Im pulling my hair out. PLEASE HELP!
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 04:24:58 am »

What version of VL you are installing? Are you installing via the GUI or TUI installer?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 04:58:45 am »

After the boot screen type:

linux

That will allow a text installer to install.

Bigpaws
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1425



« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2010, 05:54:10 am »

I don't know about this ebay business.  I have downloaded VL6 from Vector and keep it on my hard-drive, periodically writing it to a new disk whenever an old install disk starts giving me trouble. If Bigpaws' suggestion doesn't work, I would try this.
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2010, 09:12:48 pm »

I don't know about this ebay business.  I have downloaded VL6 from Vector and keep it on my hard-drive, periodically writing it to a new disk whenever an old install disk starts giving me trouble. If Bigpaws' suggestion doesn't work, I would try this.

Agree with sledgehammer.....that way you can check the download and make sure that it is clean.
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2010, 02:15:21 pm »

Longshot, but easy to try:
When the screen goes blank, tap a "shift" key.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2010, 02:57:41 pm »

Longshot, but easy to try:
When the screen goes blank, tap a "shift" key.

Some time the screen will turn to power safe mode while installing, just hit any key to bring the screen up again. It happen to me when I installing linux/VL for my first time in my life...hehehehehe Smiley
Logged
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2010, 11:38:51 am »

Sometimes, the obvious (and simple) solutions escape us.....  Wink
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!