VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 05:08:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Auto wifi network connection in VL 6.0  (Read 638 times)
DannyM

« on: April 21, 2010, 09:37:44 am »

Hi I am a VL and linux newbie.  I managed to hd install VL 6.0L with Icewm?, to my HP mini note 2133.  I have wifi up, my card recognized and can connect to networks with WPA, thanks Vector!!!  If I could do it any newb can use vl with a little patience.
Now I am spoiled, and want to get my wifi to auto run and try to connect to stored networks.  I don't know how to do this.  I read 6.0 manual but it is beyond my technical ability.  Is this possible so that wifi will does not have to be manually started and connected everytime.  My broadcom b43 card is working great with vl.  VLwifi option in menu does not do anything that I can see.  Wicd is the way I get connected.  Can I get wicd to start with boot, is that what a deamon does?
Thanks for great distro!
By the way, my webcam works! No other distro I tried did that.
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 11:09:42 am »

Wicd should have an option to automatically connect when you start it. You're not seeing that option?

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
roarde
Vectorian

move the needle

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2010, 03:00:54 pm »

Sorry, I missed the "L" in "VL 6.0L" the first time around, or would've responded already.

You're correct, wicd does need daemon for this. The point-and-click way is: