VectorLinux
September 01, 2014, 05:55:13 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: getting wifi to work  (Read 1179 times)
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« on: April 23, 2010, 04:16:41 pm »

 I drove everybody here nuts (and myself!) a few weeks ago getting wireless working. Now I'm back to take another shot at it.
 Here's what I've got. Wireless works great with a usb wireless stick, but the usb stick looks to me like it's just "asking for it," insofar as it's sticking out about three inches, and every time I move it seems to disconnect.
  I installed an internal wireless card with a broadcom chip #BCM430. according to the link herehttp://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=1282.0
 It's been supported since kernel 2.6.17
 I followed the instructions,  but Wicid doesn't see anything. What should I do?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 04:57:05 pm »

pls post your lspci, lsmod and ifconfig -a
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 07:32:47 pm »

Code:
root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
00:02.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1450 (rev 03)
00:02.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1450 (rev 03)
00:03.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4303 802.11b Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
00:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Cirrus Logic CS 4614/22/24/30 [CrystalClear SoundFusion Audio Accelerator] (rev 01)
00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility P/M AGP 2x (rev 64)

snd_timer              20872  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
i2c_core               21268  1 i2c_piix4
snd                    54052  13 snd_seq_midi,snd_intel8x0,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_cs46xx,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8712  3 snd_intel8x0,snd_cs46xx,snd_pcm
ssb                    29956  2 b43legacy,b44
shpchp                 29716  0
pci_hotplug            27040  1 shpchp
parport_pc             36036  0
parport                31724  1 parport_pc
nsc_ircc               16400  0
irda                  109112  2 sir_dev,nsc_ircc
crc_ccitt               2688  1 irda
video                  17296  0
output                  3456  1 video
thinkpad_acpi          57344  0
rfkill                  8856  2 b43legacy,thinkpad_acpi
led_class               4484  2 b43legacy,thinkpad_acpi
evdev                  10144  0
nvram                   7948  1 thinkpad_acpi

inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:4b:23:34:25 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-90-4B-23-34-25-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 08:28:32 pm »

Under ifconfig you show wlan1.

As root in a console type:

dhcpcd wlan1

There will not be a response.

then type ifconfig wlan1 and you should see an
inet address.

Bigpaws
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 08:52:48 pm »

Code:
root:# dhcpcd wlan1
ifconfig wlan1
vector://home/vl
root:# ifconfig wlan1
wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:4b:23:34:25 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2010, 02:42:52 am »

did you try connect using vlwifi?

try as below too

ifconfig wlan1 up
iwlist scan
« Last Edit: April 24, 2010, 03:12:43 am by hata_ph » Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2010, 08:08:59 am »

Code:
root:# ifconfig wlan1 up
vector://home/vl
root:# iwlist scan
lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

irda0     Interface doesn't support scanning.

wmaster0  Interface doesn't support scanning.
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2010, 09:10:23 am »

 I pasted the network controller# in google's search box. There are a lot of posts from people with problems with this, but most seem to be circa 2006-2007. Perhaps the issues were solved, but more likely something faster/better/ simpler has come along since then. I picked this up at my refurbished computer headquarters, where they had just gotten a batch of these from somewhere. It's likely obsolete, but then again one benefit of working with stuff from the last century is that by now most of the problems have surfaced, and "been there-done that" a million times by now.
 A link that gives a ton of info is
    http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43
 It said to try lspci -vnn | grep 14e4, so I did and got:
 
Code:
root:# lspci -vnn | grep 14e4
00:03.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4303 802.11b Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4301] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Broadcom Corporation Unknown device [14e4:0407]
I think the 4303 is first up on the list of supported chips. But farther down the page there's this scary paragraph:
Quote
Code:
The Broadcom wireless chip needs software, called "firmware", that runs on the wireless chip itself during operation. This firmware is copyrighted by Broadcom and must be extracted from Broadcom's proprietary drivers. To get such firmware on your system, you must download the driver from a legal distribution point, as noted below. Then you must extract the firmware from that Broadcom driver by using b43-fwcutter (or bcm43xx-fwcutter) and install it in the special directory for firmware - usually /lib/firmware. Please note that the firmware from the binary drivers is copyrighted by Broadcom Corporation and must not be redistributed.

Some distributions have special methods for installing the firmware. In general these consist of a special command entered at a terminal. Because the proprietary driver containing the firmware cannot be included in the distribution, you will need a working connection to the Internet. Please post details for distros that are missed at b43-dev@lists.infradead.org.

[/quote]
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2010, 09:20:22 am »

have you try using ndiswrapper?
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2010, 09:56:27 am »

 I'm hesitant to use ndiswrapper because of what happened a few weeks ago when I was trying to get an ethernet card to work. I installed too many conflicting drivers and the kernel went bonkers. The answer was to do do a clean install of VL 6.0 lite and let the standard OS do it's thing. That, and what I've read so far seems to indicate that the driver is already in the kernel. I can't get the kernel to see it that way though, so maybe the kernel has been on vacation, or worse, "hiking in the Appalachians."
 If that's the case, go kernel, go!
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2010, 02:01:02 pm »

Which version are  you using.

The firmware is included. There is a bug with udev that
affects a few users. Which is resolved with changing udev to
an older version.

Please post the output:

ls -la /var/log/packages/ | grep udev

If udev is the problem then a downgrade is possible and then
everything should be working.

Bigpaws
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2010, 02:20:12 pm »

Code:
root:# ls -la /var/log/packages/ | grep udev
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    2832 2009-08-20 16:14 udev-118-i486-4_slack12.1
vector://home/vl
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2010, 04:40:58 pm »

Just as I thought.

This is the problem udev package.

NOTE: While I have advised many others to do this there is a possibility
           it could create problems with the installation. This has not occurred
           I just need to let you know.

First download udev 1.11 from here:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/packages/base/udev-111-i486-5.tlz

Save that fiel somewhere you will know it will be.

You can downgrade udev by using pkgtool. As root open a
terminal and type:

pkgtool

then use remove package. Scroll to udev and remove it.

Now in the directory that you have the older udev package use
package tool to install it.

Now reboot and look at ifconfig to make sure that
the wireless (wlan usually is still there) and type
dhcpcd wlan"number here and no quotes"

Next check for an ip address by looking at ifconfig again.

Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2010, 01:56:10 pm »

 Sometimes I'm afraid to respond. After all the effort others put into helping me and my silly little problems (in my silly little world!).
 Here's what happened. I have another Thinkpad that's toast. And like I said, I'm a newcomer to laptops, so while I've taken a look at what's under the covers, a lot of this is new territory to me.
 So when I got the wireless "modem," I decided to check the dead Thinkpad and see if there was anything in the socket. Turns out that there was a modem/ethernet combo in there.
 So I was in a small (but happy) dilema. I can try to reconfigure Vector. That would entail going into the filesystem and yanking out whatever I came across that remotely resembled any hapless file or program I was aiming to find,or...having a working etehernet, a dial up modem that, as luck would have it, I can use, as our only internet access at work is through the 56k bit sipping plug on the back of the box. The usb wireless is a pain, since it drops out if I look at it wrong, but it's there and it works. So for now I'm going with the ethernet/modem combo, and seeing what happens. Thanks for all the help, and if it doesn't work I'll go for the dive into the files. Thanks again, especially Bigpaws.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!