VectorLinux
August 21, 2014, 07:43:42 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: X configuration for Dell Optiplex 150  (Read 2479 times)
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« on: May 20, 2010, 01:36:14 pm »

Hi,

Vector Light 6.0. Everything is OK except the windows will not start - either I get crazy colors or it just hangs. I tried Vesa and different Xorg configs but no luck. Booting to text mode works OK. Note: X windows works OK "out of the box" with Puppy Linux booted from CD and Ubuntu flavors are OK.

If this helps here's a link to some video info:

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/opgx150/en/ug/specs.htm#graphics_and_video

I tried $ dmesg but didn't see any obvious info about the card. Tried auto config but no luck either. Help appreciated, Vector seems quite fast on this older PC and would like to try it.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2010, 01:41:19 pm by slurt » Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 04:19:54 pm »

Pls post your lspci and lsmod...

Pls attach your xorag.conf too...
Logged
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 06:36:22 pm »

lspci and it says command not found.

Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2010, 06:44:12 pm »

lspci and it says command not found.


You need to login as root in a console/terminal to run it...
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2010, 09:10:23 pm »

You don't need to su to root to run lspci. As user type
/sbin/lspci
at a terminal prompt.

In general you never need to log in as root. Just open a terminal and type su and then the root password. Run whatever commands you want and then type
exit
at the prompt to return to being user.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2010, 11:50:55 am »

Please stand by. I'll have info ASAP. Also I tied one of the xconfig scripts I think xorgconfig and made my best guesses so any existing X config files might reflect that (my wrong guesses ;^)
Logged
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2010, 02:35:04 pm »

lspci:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (GMCH) Graphics Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801AA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA USB Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801AA SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:0c.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado] (rev 78)

lsmod:
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            31872  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6912  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48368  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7436  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            37408  0
snd_mixer_oss          15104  1 snd_pcm_oss
speedstep_lib           4740  0
freq_table              4352  0
rtc_cmos               10144  0
snd_intel8x0           29980  0
snd_ac97_codec         99492  1 snd_intel8x0
rtc_core               15132  1 rtc_cmos
rtc_lib                 3328  1 rtc_core
3c59x                  40616  0
ac97_bus                2432  1 snd_ac97_codec
mii                     5376  1 3c59x
snd_pcm                67972  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19976  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    51492  10 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
i2c_i801                9616  0
soundcore               7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8840  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
i2c_core               21268  1 i2c_i801
shpchp                 29716  0
pci_hotplug            27040  1 shpchp
iTCO_wdt               10916  0
parport_pc             35908  0
parport                31724  1 parport_pc
dcdbas                  7584  0
evdev                  10144  0


« Last Edit: May 21, 2010, 04:39:11 pm by slurt » Logged
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2010, 11:52:52 am »

Hi, any ideas? If a fix is not available I'll move on...but I'd like to try a fix if one is possible.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2010, 05:52:44 pm »

We are awaiting your xorg.conf.....
Logged
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2010, 09:26:59 am »

I reinsrtalled VL using the auto config option for the X.

Booting the system it freezes/hangs at:
rc.X==> Goimg to multiuser GUI mode...

If I boot w/text option it will boot OK to command line. Then if I type startx:
xinit: connection reset by peer(errno 104) unable to connect to server
xinit: No such process(errno 3) server error
...
(EE) Problen parsing the config file
(EE)error parsing the config file
Fatal error
no screens founds
giving up

/mnt/sda6/etc/X11/xorg.conf:

This file is empty!

As I said above I did a fresh install of VL just now using the "auto" "no questions asked" X config option. I then boot w/a Puppy Linux CD and went to the location cited above an viewed the file in a text editor and it's blank. there's nothing in the file. I have tried other install options but like I said I can't get X to work in VL ergo my posting here..

Again the auto option in VL 6.0 light apparent gives me an empty file.

I can use xorgconfig script if you want, maybe if I know what modules/drivers to load/get and what specs to enter. This is an old Dell PC, I'm sure it's possible. Please advise. Thanks.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2010, 04:22:51 pm »

Did you try to use the vesa configuration?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4019



« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2010, 04:27:01 pm »

Go ahead and log in using text mode, as root. Run command "vxconf" and follow the prompts. When it's done, run command "startx" to test your configuration.
Logged
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2010, 12:08:45 pm »

I tried vesa config. I'll try vxconf ASAP.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2010, 02:13:10 pm »

Was this install done by GUI or text? If it was installed by GUI try to
reinstall using the text installer.

Once the system starts boots type Linux for the boot parameters.

That should start the text installer.

Bigpaws
Logged
slurt
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2010, 08:12:20 pm »

tried vxconf. But it did not work. Either get a freeze or a garbage screen w/startx. There was a suggestion to use a text installer - I assume I boot from the VL CD? I'm not sure how to proceed and will this have the possibility of giving me different results from the regular install?

Please note my hardware is cited above...is it supported?

I'm beginning to think this video on my PC is not supported by VL and if there's nothing else significant to try I'll regretfully move on - thanks for helping me to try.  Fin.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!