VectorLinux
August 21, 2014, 12:01:29 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED by replcement] Sparkle nVidia GeForce FX 5200 Drivers - VL 5.8  (Read 7144 times)
solex
Member
*
Posts: 59


« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2010, 05:14:04 pm »

I checked another monitor that supports the same resolution and had the same problem, no problems with the VGA cable getting to 1920x1080 but with the DVI cable the best I can get is 1440x990 with no flicker and looks great.

Any tips as to where to look next would be appreciated.  I have opened a case with Sparkle.

Thanks,
Dan
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1258



« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2010, 05:23:50 pm »

Max resolution for DVI may be different than what's available for VGA. Here's something I found for your particular card:

Here is the resolution supported by the DVi ouput
Resolution Colors(bits) Vertical Refresh Rate(Hz)
640x480 8/16/32 240/240/240
800x600 8/16/32 240/240/240
1024x768 8/16/32 240/240/200
1152x864 8/16/32 200/200/170
1280x960 8/16/32 170/170/150
1280x1024 8/16/32 170/170/150
1600x900 8/16/32 150/150/120
1600x1200 8/16/32 120/120/100
1920x1080 8/16/32 100/100/85
1920x1200 8/16/32 100/100/85
1920x1440 8/16 85/85/75
2048x1536 32 75/75/60

If you change the refresh rate, you may be able to hit 1920x1080.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
solex
Member
*
Posts: 59


« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2010, 06:42:07 pm »

How do I change the resolution.  The control center does not give me any options other the 50 and 51 Mhz
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 59


« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2010, 08:59:11 am »

Back and forth with both Samsung and Sparkle.  I took the card and put it into a Windows 2K machine and also could not the DVI up to the full resolution.

Looks like a problem with the DVI port on the card.  I'm getting a replacement and will update the group with the results.

Regards,
Dan
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1258



« Reply #19 on: May 20, 2010, 09:04:30 am »

Changing the resolution via Control Center most likely is not going to work. You'd have to go in and manually change xorg.conf in order to achieve the changes you wish to make.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
solex
Member
*
Posts: 59


« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2010, 07:08:57 pm »

Not really sure what to look at.  I have changed out three different monitors all Samsung's but different models, In addition, I got a replacement card and put the card into a Win2k machine.  Still cannot get 1920x1080 in DVI mode, no problem with VGA though.  I tried using the CD version of VL 6.0 but it would not display as well, probably need to install, it did show 1920x1080 HD as an option just could not get it to show guess it needs to write to the xorg.conf to display.

Any ideas before I take the plunge (I rather wait because I have samba running as a server and hate to have to set it up again).

Regards,
Dan
« Last Edit: May 23, 2010, 07:37:46 pm by solex » Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1258



« Reply #21 on: May 23, 2010, 07:12:15 pm »

I don't have a working xorg.conf to take a look at since I let VL handle everything automatically and there's no need for the file with my current setup. Someone else will have to chime in with the appropriate spots to edit.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
solex
Member
*
Posts: 59


« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2010, 03:53:19 pm »

I solved the problem.  There was a lot of information on the web regarding the 5200 with 1920x1080 and DVI and people having problems that I decided to return the Sparlke FX 5200 card and replaced it with a PNY nVidia 6200 512MB. 

I installed the 195.36.24 nVidia drivers and right and have 1920x1080 using the DVI cable with absolutely no fiddling.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!