VectorLinux
November 27, 2014, 11:15:43 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Google Chrome for Linux  (Read 3580 times)
prince
Vectorite
***
Posts: 183


« on: May 25, 2010, 06:00:40 pm »

Another candidate for the test repository?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2010, 12:24:03 pm by prince » Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2010, 05:07:04 am »

Why are they distributing .deb and .rpms on their front page and not the source?
Logged

retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2010, 05:23:18 am »

Dunno. And I'm not that impressed with Chrome. I've had issues with my users tripping port flood protection on the server. Only happens when they're using Chrome.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2010, 06:01:35 am »

Seems silly that a company like google would offer this for "linux" and assume linux=deb|rpm
Logged

prince
Vectorite
***
Posts: 183


« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2010, 12:26:30 pm »

I agree with Moe guys. I'll edit the subject.
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2010, 12:59:59 pm »

I'm using Chrome right now.  But if someone wants to build it they will have to get the source code on the Chromium projects page.  you can install it and it work ok in VL-6.0 Standard and Light.  It will not install on VL-6.0 SOHO at the moment though many missing or dependencies needing to be relinked.
you can install it by following the fine tutorial at
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/10.Browsers/gchrome/gchromeVLlight.htm

But I'm not a great fan of it either.  It's fast though.
Dave
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2010, 07:27:09 am »

The debs or rpms could be opened (using /sbin/deb2targz or /sbin/rpm2targz) and repackaged as tlz. I have done this successfully when testing previous beta versions. The only other deps needed (I think) are Gconf and mozilla-nss. Both of which are in the repos. (mozilla-nss may be in testing)
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2010, 07:31:17 am »

Sure, anything can be done. But that's not the point. I would expect google to provide a package that is more in line with the linux standards and not with X distro's standard.
Logged

retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2010, 07:33:34 am »

Half the things Google does doesn't make much sense. They've got some brilliant minds working in the company, but man, it really shows their lack of "street smarts" when it comes to applying things to the real world. Wink
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2010, 07:40:55 am »

True that
Logged

Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2010, 06:40:25 am »

Whatever you might think about Google's deb/rpm policy, it's easy enough to install (in Standard at least) if you follow the tutorial, and you might just prefer it to Firefox etc.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2010, 06:44:22 am »

I've tried Chrome on several occasions. Personally, it just doesn't do anything for me. I prefer Opera still, although with the recent changes they've made to the version 10 series, they may loose me as a user.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2010, 04:40:14 pm »

Which changes to Opera 10.x bother you? At first I was stunned to have no menu and no dropdown replacement such as in Internet Explorer, but once I restored the menu by clicking on the Opera icon at the top left, I felt at home again.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2010, 05:10:17 pm »

It's the skinning changes they've been making that have me thinking about tossing the browser. Especially under Windows. 10.53 is fugly!
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2010, 05:23:39 pm »

I've never done anything with skins. I just leave it the way it comes. I do use Opera 10.5x in Windows but I don't run Windows often enough to have noticed.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!