Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: networking stopped working  (Read 1466 times)

degarb

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
networking stopped working
« on: May 31, 2010, 09:38:56 am »
I installed vector linux light on kids computer about a year or two ago.

She fires it up every few months to check her email.

About 4 months ago, I turned off dhcp and set my other xp and ubuntu machine to manual ip.

Today she fired up vllight, but it won't pull an ip, even when I turn on the dhcp.

I don't remember how I turned on the network and setup the ip, and dns server.  I don't see how to do this in the gui.  wicd is closest tool but missing all this.


bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: networking stopped working
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2010, 09:58:31 am »
Open a terminal and login as root

Now type

ifconfig eth0 up

Now

dhcpcd eth0

You should not get any output.

Bigpaws

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: networking stopped working
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2010, 05:01:56 pm »
post the output of ifconfig

degarb

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: networking stopped working
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2010, 06:53:37 am »
the first suggestion just hangs.

The output of ifconfig is encap: local loopback
inet:127.0.0.1  blah blah.

Isn't there some way to set the ip/dns server/dhcp like in ubuntu and windows?  I know that when I set up vl light that I ran some program to do this--then the internet started working. Probably launched with terminal, which is why I don't see how to do this with menu. 

Running vl light.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2010, 06:59:06 am by degarb »

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 584
  • move the needle
Re: networking stopped working
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2010, 09:03:13 am »
"start" > system > vasm > super

Look at both "service" and "network"

"vasm" in terminal does the same thing, still uses X. "vasm" in root terminal takes you straight to super, still in X.
Robert
VL Light RC 1.2

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: networking stopped working
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2010, 09:06:10 am »
Quote
I turned off dhcp

How did you do that? Do you mean that you stopped the
router from assigning addresses?

Quote
ip/dns server/dhcp

Each one of the things you listed is different.

Have you tried VASM to set things up?

You could also try using netconfig which can be used in a terminal
when logged on as root.

You can also edit /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf and add the addresses and
gateway there.

WICD can be used to configure an device that is already running.

There is information that you are not giving that would make this
easier. Like what is the name, make and model of the ethernet card
that you have.

Also check the logs dmesg is a good one to start with.

In a terminal type:

dmesg | less

Now you can scroll through the output of dmesg.

Bigpaws