VectorLinux
October 23, 2014, 03:24:16 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Slapt-get downloading only  (Read 964 times)
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« on: May 31, 2010, 11:44:54 am »

**banging head on desk** I know it's something simple, I know it's staring at me right in the face, however, I'm trying to just download a package (no install or anything).

So... I enable testing in the repo. Check
I update the lists. Check
Search to ensure slapt-get sees what I want.. Check
Type:
slapt-get --download-only wicd-1.7.0-i586-3vl60

and it bombs....

Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2010, 12:17:21 pm »

When you run "slapt-get --help" you get a list of targets and a list of options, basically, you need one of each. So in this case it would be: "slapt-get --install --download-only package-name".
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2010, 12:24:24 pm »

That worked! Danke...

Except................. Now it's telling no such package exists... **banging head on desk**

Correction.. It's just not doing anything.

Question... Are the actual packages stored in /var/log/packages?

« Last Edit: May 31, 2010, 12:27:02 pm by retired1af » Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2010, 01:21:31 pm »

Question... Are the actual packages stored in /var/log/packages?
I think so, though I didn't actually do it. I just told it to download mc, which I have here on my local repo and also already installed. So it went and told me that mc was already up to date... Grin
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2010, 02:04:25 pm »

Manual download okay?

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/patches/net/
Logged
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2010, 04:46:28 pm »

Alternatively, if you use GSLAPT (sorry for being a wimp and suggesting the GUI) then after you click the install button there's an option to "Download packages only" which I just tried for the first time(!) which deposits the package in the /home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages/subfolder, but doesn't install it.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2010, 04:53:22 pm »

The problem is, it's already installed, so gslapt won't download it again unless I remove it. Not gonna do that as I need the WiFi connection! Smiley
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2010, 12:45:38 pm »

That worked! Danke...

Except................. Now it's telling no such package exists... **banging head on desk**

Correction.. It's just not doing anything.

Question... Are the actual packages stored in /var/log/packages?



Smiley You are having fun....

To find where your already downloaded packages are stored, go to /etc/slapt-get and have a look in slapt-getrc. From memory, its something like /home/ftp/public/packages/vectorlinux, but I modified mine ages ago and can't find an original slapt-getrc.

Paul.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2010, 07:15:34 am »

Since wicd 1.7.0 is the default in the SOHO Beta, it wasn't located in /home/ftp.

I was trying to get it downloaded to copy over to the VL7 installation and install there. However, Vector released an update, which solved that little issue. Smiley
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1073


« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2010, 08:37:12 am »

You could rip the wicd 1.7.0 file from the SOHO CD (or iso). It's found in the /packages/net folder.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!