VectorLinux
July 30, 2014, 02:43:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sound Issues on a fresh install of VL 6.0 Standard with KDE  (Read 701 times)
CWM480

« on: June 17, 2010, 08:28:46 pm »

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to vector linux this is my first time trying it thanks to GrannyGeek <G> who I know over at the Compuserve Linux forum shes a real good helpful sweet lady.

Anyways I have no sound

I went to KONSOLE ( I am using KDE 3.5 ) and I put in

cat /proc/asound/modules

I got this:

You are working as christopher
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
------PC:/~
christopher:$ cat /proc/asound/modules
 0 snd_hda_intel
--------PC:/~

Help Please I am lost

Thanks,
Christopher
arkaland

« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 05:23:43 am »

If GrannyGeek can't help you, see my post over here:
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=11950.0
ALSA seems to be great at mis-identifying (or mis-configuring) newer or lesser-known sound cards.
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2010, 05:28:41 pm »

I'm not real good with sound issues, so I hope someone who knows more than I do will step in. A few questions:

*  How did you install KDE 3.5 on VL6 Standard? With Gslapt? What packages did you install?
*  Did you open a terminal (like Konsole) and type
alsamixer