VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]  (Read 1042 times)

toothandnail

  • Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2527
20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« on: June 26, 2010, 01:08:06 pm »

kc1di has built a new Opera package for VectorLinux 6.0.
   
      
   
Code: [Select]
opera: opera (Web Browser )
opera:
opera: Opera is a lightweight, free, multiplatform, and
opera: standards-compliant web browser.
opera: This is a security and Stability upgrade.
opera:
opera:
opera: License: See Documentation for info.
opera: Authors: Opera Team
opera: Website: www.opera.com
   
   After testing this package please stop back here and let us know how it works for you.
   
Logged

Andy Price

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 11:00:52 pm »

The browser seems fine, but icon missing from menu in VL6 Gold (was present with previous version)
Thanks, Andy
Logged

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2010, 02:54:38 am »

Thanks Andy will Check it out It seemed good here when I tested it.

Dave
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 03:46:48 am »

Hi Andy,

I'm unable to duplicate the no Icon problem here using VL-6.0 Standard the Globe Icon appears in the menu.

would you check on your machine and see if you have the file /usr/lib/opera-10.11  The exicutable for opera is located there and should have the globe Icon showing?

Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

Andy Price

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 06:11:02 am »

Hi Dave

The opera executable is in the directory /usr/lib/opera-10.11 as you said, but it shows as a standard icon in Thunar. I opened opera.desktop and it give the icon location as /usr/share/pixmaps/opera.xpm but that file doesn't exist on my system; in fact I can't find opera.xpm anywhere. What is a little puzzling is that before I did the upgrade from 10.10 I did have an opera icon on the menu, so I must have had opera.xpm before!

Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1310
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2010, 09:40:55 am »

Seeing the same behavior here with SOHO 6 RC3. Browser works fine, icon shows on menu bar, but not within the Internet menu. Also seeing the Konqueror bouncing icon when firing up Opera.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2010, 12:06:42 pm »

Thanks guys for the feedback I've repackaged it and it should cure the icon problem. it works now on soho rc3 and std. with no problems here. Look for the 2vl60 package in a few days in testing.

Cheers ,
Dave
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: 20100626 opera-10.11 [VL6.0]
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2010, 02:33:29 pm »

Apart from the missing icon, Opera 10.11 is working here on three computers. I wouldn't have noticed the icon problem had it not been pointed out because I don't use the "start" menu much. I use a launchbar I create in the XFce Panel where I have something like what's called drawers. I select icons myself.

If one disappears I know the icon is either gone or not in the location I specified. So I either find it or change it.

If the only fix in the forthcoming new package is the icon thing, I'll pass because I already fixed it myself. :)
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller