VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 06:05:06 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Firefox Update Problem [SOLVED]  (Read 2040 times)
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« on: June 28, 2010, 11:21:17 pm »

After accepting the prompt to upgrade to the latest Firefox, this now does not work.  I've tried downgrading again, and upgrading again, but both versions produce the following error message:

"Error launching browser window:no XBL binding for browser"

Help, please! Undecided
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 12:52:17 am by Martin109 » Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 11:22:46 pm »

Should have added, VL6.0.  Laptop is last one on my sig line.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2010, 12:52:59 am »

Not really solved, just sorted itself next time I booted the machine up. Smiley
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2010, 06:19:24 am »

If you're prompted for an update online, it will be direct from Mozilla. Which will not match the layout used by Vector Linux, and may be built against different deps.

In future, you would be better off saying no to any such update and using Gslapt to install the latest Vector package. They are usually pretty well up to date. Keep an eye on releases in the VL package news and updates section of the forum. New packages are announced there, and once an announcement is made, you will be able to enable the testing repo and install them. While not guaranteed to be safe, testing packages should at least allow you an easy way to remove a package which does cause you problems. You'll also be able to help testing new packages for Vector.

Paul.
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 520


move the needle


« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2010, 03:54:21 pm »

We could use a VL upgrade flash in firefox howto. At least I could, though I have it working this time. If I knew how I did it, I'd write the howto.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2010, 04:03:43 pm »

Flash tutorial here: http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/10.Browsers/flashupg/flash_ins.htm
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!