VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 03:17:17 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Trying to Migrate Back  (Read 765 times)
CrazyDog
Member
*
Posts: 85



« on: August 01, 2010, 11:18:28 pm »

So I have been using Windows 7 for a while after getting a new laptop that came with it.  Now I am wanting to go back to Vector - it should really fly on my new machine, but I have run into a problem.

After burning the ISO - I can get about 1/2 of the way into the installation and I get a warning saying "bad index" and then everything crashes.  For the fun of it, I burned a copy of Ubuntu and could not even get past the splash screen. 

My new laptop is a Sony VGN - FW.  It is 64-bit too, although 32-bit applications should work fine.  I have 6GB Ram - so what am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any help here-

CrazyDog
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 12:30:22 am »

Try reburning the disc at 1X speed....

Next, so long as there is nothing you need on the hard drive, format it with gparted.

Try re-installing from newly slow burned disc.

Steven
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 05:03:57 am »

Sounds like a bad burn or download.

Did you check the MD5 sum?

32 bit will run fine on this system.

Bigpaws
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2010, 05:22:49 am »

2 things I can see right away. The error you describe looks like a buggy installer code. Which ISO did you burn and which version.

Another thing. You mentioned your system has 6GB of RAM. I've never owned anything similar to that beast, and I'm not even sure the VL kernel supports all  of that or not. But if your system boots up to see the install process, then I guess you should be fine, leaving the focus of this post on the first question... Which version did you burn and which ISO, which release?

Also, dont forget to verify MD5sum
Logged

CrazyDog
Member
*
Posts: 85



« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2010, 06:53:57 am »

Wow!  Thank you all for your quick and thoughtful responses.  I appreciate them all.

I burned VL standard gold 6.0.  I thought it might be a bad burn too which is why I burned a copy of Ubuntu on my Wife's laptop at a slow burn.  I guess I will try again - just wondered if there could be something in the Bios or something else.

Thanks again-

CrazyDog/Robert

Logged
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1073


« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2010, 03:07:18 pm »

If the slow burn doesn't seem to work you might try the disk on another machine if available or even an iso install.

Was the md5sum ok on your iso download?

The current VL kernel (and the one used with 6.0 std) will only recognize about 3.5Gb of your RAM. Perhaps someone would be willing to build a PAE enabled kernel so that machines that have more than 4Gb RAM could take advantage of it.

BTW, welcome back.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!