VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 02:29:25 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: No Mouse, No Keyboard: Dell Vostro 1510  (Read 9854 times)
gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« on: July 21, 2010, 06:22:30 am »

Hi,

     I installed VectorLinux 6 on a Dell Vostro 1510 and everything worked fine except for the video driver. I tried to change it and now everytime that I try to boot my computer I have no keyboard and no mouse. Help, please.

Gus


Edit: Oh, no! Same issues with VectorLinux Light Live. Wha. . . ?!
« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 06:27:56 am by gacl » Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 06:34:14 am »

boot into cli mode and run vxconf again
Logged

gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 06:49:10 am »

When I try "linux single" and "linux emergency" at "boot:" (LiLo) I get "No such image. [Tab] shows a list."
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 07:11:11 am »

linux root=<your root device> ro 2
Logged

gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2010, 07:14:41 am »

Neither "linux root=/dev/hda1 ro 2" or "linux root=/dev/sda1 ro 2" do anything. There's only one partition in the drive.


Edit: This is very strange. The installer also has a non-responsive keyboard, i.e. the "SELECT DEFAULT MONITOR RESOLUTION" screen.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 07:25:42 am by gacl » Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2010, 07:24:05 am »

are you using lilo as the boot manager?

You can also use a VL install CD to boot it using the commands I gave you
Logged

gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2010, 07:35:39 am »

Quote
are you using lilo as the boot manager?

Yes, I don't mess with the bootloader settings during installation.

Now, "linux root=/dev/sda1 ro 2" boots but it hangs at "Vector Login: Setting up basic network . . ."
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2010, 08:24:02 am »

OK, this is freaky: the VL 6 installation, the VL 6 installation drive, VL 6 Light Live, VL 5.9 Live. . . no luck; no keyboard, no mouse. I put in the Ubuntu 10.04 disc and they work. And, I reboot and the VL 6 installation works. . . why?
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
jarius
Member
*
Posts: 3

fill'er up


« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2010, 03:11:01 pm »

same issue as stated previously.  just came across VL and thought I'd give it a try.  sounded like what i was looking for.

pc-pentium D 3.4 dual
currently running XP
no problem with Kubuntu/Mint

tried VL 6.0 STD Gold & KDE Classic.

no keyboard after the install loading screen.

any suggestions would be helpful.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2010, 05:12:48 pm »

That is very strange.

If the input devices are USB, I would try some PS/2 devices, or vice versa.. that's all I can think of right now.
Logged
jarius
Member
*
Posts: 3

fill'er up


« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2010, 08:10:43 pm »

ps/2 devices
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2010, 03:36:59 am »

If you have a USB mouse, try plugging that in when it goes unresponsive and see if anything happens.

Also, when this happens, look at the keyboard indicator LEDs. Can you turn on and off the Caps Lock indicator?

Finally, touch the power button and see if the computer shuts down in an orderly fashion.
Logged
gacl
Vectorite
***
Posts: 218



« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2010, 06:29:17 am »

Well, the problem is back for me. I've rebooted 5 times, and nothing, no mouse, no keyboard. The only key that works is the power key.

I have no mice. And it does power off properly.

Gus
Logged

“Our very lives depend on the ethics of strangers, and most of us are always strangers to other people.” -- Bill Moyers
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2010, 12:33:53 pm »

I'm out of ideas  Embarrassed  .. anyone else?
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2010, 12:39:42 pm »

and these are fresh new installs right?
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!