VectorLinux
July 26, 2014, 06:49:07 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: missing "extra" repository  (Read 990 times)
MikeCindi
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1071


« on: July 25, 2010, 10:26:02 am »

The extra repository seems to be offline. Is there a problem? I can get to it with my browser but not with gslapt.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2010, 11:12:19 am »

The extra repository seems to be offline. Is there a problem? I can get to it with my browser but not with gslapt.

I'm not aware of any problem. Seems to be working ok from here.....

Paul.
Logged
MikeCindi
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 11:19:44 am »

I changed to the ftp link from the http and it worked. The "broken" link for me is: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/extra/
This is with SOHO rc3.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2010, 12:46:52 pm »

I changed to the ftp link from the http and it worked. The "broken" link for me is: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/extra/
This is with SOHO rc3.

Strange. I was able to update without any problems, and installed something from extra using this link: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/extra/

Gslapt had no problems downloading the repo data from the area, and pulled a (small) file to install, also using Gslapt.

Smiley I haven't touched any of the repo areas for at least 24 hours, so I would have thought everything should have stabilised by now.

I'm not sure how the mirrors work, don't know if it could be something like a mirror local to you having problems, but I would have thought that it was a direct link. I wonder if anyone else is having problems with it?

Paul.
Logged
MikeCindi
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2010, 03:06:24 pm »

Paul,

The last ~4-5wks have been very busy for me (retook boards in Family Practice and also in/out of town the last few weeks) so I've left you to handle the repos. Sorry about that but I should be back in the thick of it soon.

As for this problem I tried with SOHO rc3, Standard and Light (two different machines) and couldn't get gslapt to see that http link. I'm not sure why as it seemed to be okay until a day or two ago.

Mike
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2010, 03:34:12 am »

The last ~4-5wks have been very busy for me (retook boards in Family Practice and also in/out of town the last few weeks) so I've left you to handle the repos. Sorry about that but I should be back in the thick of it soon.

Not a problem - I've been on holiday for the last couple of weeks, so I've had a bit of leisure time...

Quote
As for this problem I tried with SOHO rc3, Standard and Light (two different machines) and couldn't get gslapt to see that http link. I'm not sure why as it seemed to be okay until a day or two ago.

Very odd. I did update several areas (including extra) when the latest (well, it was the latest a few days ago...) Firefox went up. But, as I said, the http link is working fine from herre. I also don't think the update scripts would affect http as opposed to ftp, so I'm at a loss. I wonder if anyone else is seeing the same problem?

Smiley If it is anything to do with the update scripts, I may do more damage - the (at the moment) latest Firefox should be going up sometime in the next 24 hours. Which means lots of shuffling and scripts....

Paul.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2010, 03:36:17 am by toothandnail » Logged
MikeCindi
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2010, 07:46:33 pm »

I finally figured out what the problem was which was of course on my end of the world. My proxy server's content filter didn't like the extra repo (Huh) or the md5sum for freetype (Huh). I don't know what caused this to now be an issue but I just allowed free access to vectorlinux.osuosl.org through the filter and that fixed this problem. (I've posted this in the other thread too.)

Sorry for the confusion.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!