VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Opera 10.60  (Read 4938 times)

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Opera 10.60
« on: July 26, 2010, 07:28:02 am »

Is it me, or does anyone else find the changes they made to Opera 10.60 unacceptable and a royal pain in the backside? I don't want to click on a menu button to get to my bookmarks! I want that menu back, however, it seems there's not an easy way to set things back to how they looked in 10.10. And heaven forbid you bitch about it in the Opera forums. They immediately lock any thread that complains about the changes. Bastages. **sigh**
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 06:38:36 pm »

Do you mean you want the menu back? Simplicity itself. Just click on the red button at the top left  and select Show Menu Bar.

Once I restored the menu bar, I don't notice much of a difference between 10.10 and 10.60. Did you have some special way of accessing bookmarks? I always use the Bookmarks menu, but you can also use a panel and probably a few more things that I've never bothered to find out.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 05:14:21 am »

I've been holding off on upgrading because I have gotten very used to the Rewind button. I know that you can achieve the same with holding down the Back button, but that is slower. Anyone know if the separate Rewind button can be had in 10.60?
Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 06:00:35 am »

Do you mean you want the menu back? Simplicity itself. Just click on the red button at the top left  and select Show Menu Bar.


I have the menu back (File, Edit, etc.), but as Nightflier comments, there are other things that went **poof** with 10.60. And the popups are horrendous (login, certificate warnings, etc.). Not wild about the default text changes, either, but haven't taken the time to go through all that to see what I need to change. And last, but not least, mouse scrolling has become slower and more cumbersome. Apparently there's a CSS issue with the newest version.

Nightflier? Don't bother upgrading.. Seriously.... I may roll back to 10.10 myself.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nitehawk

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Just me.
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2010, 12:09:44 pm »

retired1af..
thanks for the warning!  I just now saw this post,..and glad I did (was about to upgrade Opera).  Now I think I'm better just to stick with 10.10.   :o
Logged

Vink8

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Vec
    • old tux forum TinyCore
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2010, 03:55:27 am »

Please have patience with me!

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/testing/net/

But isn't out Opera 11?

Is possible to packager add this file (to security and more fast purpose)

.opera/urlfilter.ini

Opera Preferences version 2.1
; Do not edit this file while Opera is running
; This file is stored in UTF-8 encoding

[prefs]
prioritize excludelist=1

[include]
*

[exclude]
< http://*.ads.* >
< http://*.burstnet.com/* >
< http://*.doubleclick.net/* >
< http://*.fastclick.net/* >
< http://*/ads/* >
< http://*banner* >
< http://*infolinks.com/* >
< http://*kontera.com/* >
< http://*linkexchange* >
< http://ad.* >
< http://ads.* >
< http://adserv* >
< http://count* >
< http://imgserv.ad* >
< http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/* >
< http://rad.msn.com/ADS* >
Logged
| Opera 11.11 | Skype | Kismet | Ecofont Vera sans |
Pentium III + 256 MbRam + nVidia Riva Tnt + Aureal au8820 Vortex 1 -
- Bluetooth Cambridge Silicon Radio -
- Canon i-Sensys Lbp8900 - scanner Lg ScanWorks 600p FB62DD -
- Y C@m Oregon Scientific DS3899 Vend.0553 Prod.0202
Samsung N150 Plus

Murdock

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
    • Arenal Botanical Garden
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2010, 05:31:42 am »

People still use Opera ? Amazing. ;D
Logged

nitehawk

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Just me.
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2010, 09:42:45 am »

...meh,..I keep wanting to try Google Chrome, but always just seem to go right to Firefox.  Force of habit, I guess.
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2010, 10:01:27 am »

People still use Opera ? Amazing. ;D

I use Opera quite a lot. It has some nice features and is fast. Chrome seems even faster, but also "dumbed down". Fortunately, we don't have to settle for just one option.
Logged

Murdock

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
    • Arenal Botanical Garden
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2010, 02:40:07 pm »

People still use Opera ? Amazing. ;D

I use Opera quite a lot. It has some nice features and is fast. Chrome seems even faster, but also "dumbed down". Fortunately, we don't have to settle for just one option.
;) Fortunately IE isn't available to irritate us........... Unless we had too much Wine.  :)
Feliz nuevo ano.
Logged

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1332
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2010, 05:18:41 pm »

I installed opera-11 and it is running well on my desktop PC and my good woman's
HP-2133. She is only using Opera whereas my main browser is dillo. Otherwise
I switch between firefox and opera depending on needed features.
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Opera 10.60
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2010, 08:44:29 pm »

People still use Opera ? Amazing. ;D

"Still"? Opera has been alive and well for many years. I used it way back in Windows 3.1 and it's still my main browser. I like Firefox well enough and like SeaMonkey more than Firefox, but I never use them in preference to Opera unless a page won't work in Opera. That happens a lot less than it used to.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller