VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 05:10:33 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: os2 Warp under linux?  (Read 850 times)
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« on: July 25, 2010, 08:40:52 pm »

I'm just curious before I try this myself...

Has anyone run os2 warp in virtualbox or by any other
method with vectorlinux?

Steven
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 03:38:01 am »

I'm just curious before I try this myself...

Has anyone run os2 warp in virtualbox or by any other
method with vectorlinux?

Smiley Let me know how you get on. I've still got one box which runs Warp, would be interesting if I could move it to a VM.

Paul.
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2010, 04:02:27 am »

I did some checking and virtualbox wiki says it runs os2. I've heard its quite problematic to virtualize. Now I gotta find my warp 4.5 cdrom I have somewhere in the mess that is my basement.

Anyone know a torrent or source for an iso?

Steven
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2010, 05:16:39 am »

I did some checking and virtualbox wiki says it runs os2. I've heard its quite problematic to virtualize. Now I gotta find my warp 4.5 cdrom I have somewhere in the mess that is my basement.

Smiley That sounds familiar....

Quote
Anyone know a torrent or source for an iso?

No.

If you can't find it, I may be able to dig out one of the cutom update CDs I produced using UpdCD. I should have an iso around somewhere - I can stick a CD in the post for you if I can find it.

Paul.


Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2010, 05:38:33 am »

Paul,

I looked around and got kind of pissed off. Nowhere in sight. I know I have 3 or 4 burnt copies of 4.5 I think or something, maybe 4.0? What was the last one produced?

I will gladly post you back some stuff you might fight interesting. I will also let you know exactly what I needed to do to get it running (if I get it running).

I moved from dos to os2 back in the day, but then to windows when os2 support dried up.

Everytime I look at os2 I think... "How do you know what might have been...?"
Have you seen ecomstation? It makes me feel kinda funny seeing that. I never used it except for the demo but its cool to see where it might have went.

I hope I can get a cdrom and get it going. Pm me to chat. Also, please see my thread in technical discussions about a dos graphic desktop for launching dos programs. Please comment what you think. I loved os2 because it ran dos better than dos and windows 3.1 apps better than windows.

It was a beautiful thing. Do you still use your os2 box much? I wish I had space, I'd love to have one again but I have windows box, amiga box, linux box, emac,and a few extra winxp boxes around. getting crowded in here.

Virtualbox it is then...

Steven


Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2010, 06:17:45 am »

I was able to locate an ibm os2 warp 4 iso, burned cd-rom. If I have time this weekend, I'll give it a go and report my results... This should be uh... fun yeah.

Steven
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!