VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 12:34:42 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can a pre-command be added to launcher? (SOLVED)  (Read 1811 times)
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1419



« on: August 07, 2010, 08:00:54 pm »

I use xfce4.

To get my hp pro webcam to work in skype I have to add
Quote
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so
before the skype command. 

When I add it to launcher on the panel it blows up....says it can't find skype.

Yet when I run the following command in a terminal window skype video works fine, at least in test mode.

Quote
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /home/johwhi/src/Skype/skype-2.1.0.81/skype

But when I paste the same command into the launcher, it errors out.

Any suggestions?



« Last Edit: August 08, 2010, 08:05:58 am by sledgehammer » Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 09:09:23 pm »

I just tried it. It works fine from the command in xterm, however, when put
in a launcher it claims it cannot find the file v4l1compat.so.

I will try to make an executable file with this command and then address it
from within the launcher. I put it in ~/bin.  In the launcher you have to tell this path.

Great it works! Cheesy

Only in my box this skype version crashes when I try to ring-up. Huh
Has something to do with the sound setting and I was not yet able to do it right.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2010, 09:15:18 pm by Pita » Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1419



« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 10:16:18 pm »

Pita,

I think you mean that I need to move the skype program from my source (src) file in my home directory to /usr/bin?   Is that right? And then put the pre-command followed by the new ~/bin path into the launcher?

I use skype a lot but have not tried the video (before today when I went to wal mart and bought a web cam).  Its pretty cool. The web cam also works with wxcam but I guess that is for making movies or taking pictures.

Too bad it crashed when you called.  I am not that far along with it yet.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 10:30:42 pm »

Pita,

I think you mean that I need to move the skype program from my source (src) file in my home directory to /usr/bin?   Is that right? And then put the pre-command followed by the new ~/bin path into the launcher?

I use skype a lot but have not tried the video (before today when I went to wal mart and bought a web cam).  Its pretty cool. The web cam also works with wxcam but I guess that is for making movies or taking pictures.

Too bad it crashed when you called.  I am not that far along with it yet.

John

No, create a file in ~/bin, let's call it skypelaunch.
> ~/bin/skypelaunch
Edit it and put the full command in it:
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /home/johwhi/src/Skype/skype-2.1.0.81/skype
Save it and make it executable.
You can do this all with 'mc'

Then in the launcher on the panel put this Command:
~/bin/skypelaunch

Launch it, close your eyes and when you open them skype should be there. Wink
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1419



« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2010, 08:05:31 am »

Thanks, Pita.

That works well.


Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2010, 01:31:41 am »

Thanks, Pita.

That works well.



Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!