VectorLinux
October 30, 2014, 06:17:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?  (Read 5693 times)
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« on: August 08, 2010, 01:07:21 pm »

I installed the JVM, and all documentation says to set the Java path on the Preferences menu, under Advanced>Content, in a separate menu to Plugins. But, under Plugins, there's blank space!

If you need any hardware information, just post the commands I need to run. This is on VL Light.

Thanks in advance, you guys were great about my wireless Smiley
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2010, 04:08:23 am »

Maybe your paths are not set right.

On my system, the path under "Java Options" is:
/usr/lib/java/lib/i386

"Plugin Options" are:
/usr/lib/opera/plugins
/usr/local/lib/opera/plugins
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
/usr/lib/firefox-3.6.8/plugins
Logged
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2010, 07:07:23 am »

This is the issue, I have no option to set the path for Java.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2010, 07:22:47 am »

Tools, Preferences, Advanced Tab. Select Content, then select Plug-in Options.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2010, 07:52:55 am »

I thought Java didn't count as a plugin?
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2010, 08:19:46 am »

Wink
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2010, 09:29:33 am »

So I need to find libnpjp2.so?

charlie:$ ls /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
libflashplayer.so*     mplayerplug-in-dvx.so*  mplayerplug-in.so*
libjavaplugin_oji.so@  mplayerplug-in-qt.so*   nppdf.so@
libmozsvgdec.la*       mplayerplug-in-rm.so*
libmozsvgdec.so*       mplayerplug-in-wmp.so*


« Last Edit: August 09, 2010, 09:32:55 am by emolotricity » Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2010, 09:48:47 am »

At the cli:

Type: locate libnpjp2.so

Then copy the file to your /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins directory (most likely you'll need to do so as root).
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2010, 01:30:29 pm »

root:# locate libnpjp2.so
locate: warning: database /var/lib/slocate/slocate.db' is more than 8 days old
vector://home/charlie
root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so

I suspect I may have installed Java wrong...
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2010, 01:35:08 pm »

File should be in /usr/lib/java/lib/i386/
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2010, 02:06:45 pm »

It demonstrably is not Sad Anywhere I can get it from?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2010, 05:24:18 pm »

I suspect I may have installed Java wrong...

Did you use gslapt and install "jre"?
Logged
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2010, 07:18:36 am »

I suspect I may have installed Java wrong...

Did you use gslapt and install "jre"?
Apparently so.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2010, 09:51:46 am »

I'm somewhat stumped here. VL6 Light comes with the Java plugin pre-configured for use with Opera. Not sure what you mean when you say you installed JVM.

How about trying to upgrade jre, using gslapt? This may reset the defaults for the java plugin.
Logged
emolotricity
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2010, 12:23:53 pm »

Maybe it's partially due to me upgrading Opera? That's one of the first things I did.

Anyway, I just reinstalled JRE and here's the results of me looking for that plugin;
root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so
root:#


Hum.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!