VectorLinux
December 22, 2014, 05:07:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: KDE internet and sound problems  (Read 1337 times)
1984
Member
*
Posts: 29


« on: August 16, 2010, 04:24:14 pm »

After trying out the standard edition I decided I didn't much care for the desktop environment. I'm used to right clicking for everything and coulden’t quite figure out how to create new folders on the desktop or make shortcuts.

It could just be me not knowing what I'm doing quite yet.

I decided to install soho classic edition from the live cd since I found that much easier and familiar.

Everything went off without a hitch and I like the kde environment better so far. It looks like it would be great except for two things.

#1.

I cannot get the internet to work. It detects no incoming signal. I tried using the network configuration tools imputing the correct ip addresses and masks but with no luck. Tried configuring with lisa but still no luck. It just simply does not recognize any incoming internet connection. When it asks me to select a network or connection or whatever there is none to choose from. I find this sort of weird since the internet worked with the live cd. It's standard dsl from the phone company.

I have been having problems with my dsl recently. Primarily although I'm supossed to be getting 3.0 gbs I'm only receiving 80-100 klbs worth of connection. I'm trying to rectify the situation with them but I thought I would let you know of the issue.


Still, The internet worked with the standard edition, and with the soho live cd, as well as windows that I'm using now to post this. I'm not quite sure what the problem is.


#2.

It's now also not recognizing the sound driver. Not sure what the problem is there either. Sound was fine with the standard edition. How do I configure this with vasm? How should I go about rectifying the situation?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 04:43:29 pm »

For the internet, pls post the result of ifconfig -a as root in terminal.
For the sound, try to run alsamixer in terminal and adjust the sound setting...

Pls post the output of lspci, lsmod in terminal as root too Tongue
Logged
1984
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 05:21:31 pm »

root:# ifconfig -a
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1260 (1.2 KiB)  TX bytes:1260 (1.2 KiB)


root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)




root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2010, 05:28:28 pm »

Pls post your complate lsmod output...

For the network issue, have you try to reconfigure your network cars using VASM?

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/docs/vl60/manuals/vl6_admin_vasm_en.html#network
Logged
1984
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2010, 05:30:45 pm »

It is complete.

Thats all I got when I typed lsmod.
Logged
1984
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2010, 05:43:09 pm »

If mod is short for moduels then something about moduels says FAILED in red durring boot up if that helps.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3261


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2010, 05:52:26 pm »

Pls post the output of below log file in your /var/log

messagse
boot.log
syslog
debug
Logged
1984
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2010, 06:10:28 pm »

When I type in /var/log all it does is tell me that it is a directory.

None of the other commands you listed are recognized.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2010, 06:19:22 pm »

They aren't commands. They are the names of files in the /var/log directory.

As root, start a text editor. Do File menu, Open, and navigate to /var/log/messages. It  should open in your text editor. Do the same for the other files mentioned.

Those files are most likely far too long to post. You can add a .txt extension to each file and send them as attachments with your reply.

Given that you didn't find any modules listed when you ran lsmod, I think there is something badly amiss with your installation.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
1984
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2010, 06:45:13 pm »

ok. sorry I misunderstood. I tried it again and its saying access denied for all of those files. I'm loged in as root ao I guess I'm at a bit of a loss as to why my access is being denied.

From the sounds of things te installation must not of gone so well. I'll try reinstalling again when I get the time.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!