Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Touchpad issue?  (Read 1222 times)

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Touchpad issue?
« on: August 25, 2010, 06:00:48 am »
This one's been driving me nuts for a few weeks now, but I'll be damned if I can trace the issue down as there's absolutely nothing in the logs.

On boot, towards the end of the boot process (right before it goes into runlevel 4), there's an apparent error. It appears after cron, and I see a list of what looks to be touchpad types. At the end of that list, I get a FAILED error and it boots into X. There's nothing in the logs, and I'd like to get rid of that list as well as figuring out what in tarnation is failing.

Suggestions?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 05:23:58 pm by retired1af »
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 06:12:15 am »
Does the touchpad work at all?

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 06:20:50 am »
Yep. It does. One of the first things I did upon installing SOHO 6 final, was toss a script into Autostart that turns the #@$)(*&@# thing off. I'm wondering if it has something to do with Fuse?
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 06:35:49 am »
and you can't see the errors in /var/log/boot? or take a snapshot somehow to see what it says? even a picture of the monitor if you need to

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 06:59:54 am »
Scrolls too fast to read what kicks off the scrolling screen. Everything appears to be working. It's just one of those "OCD" things where I want to know what's causing the list and the failure tag. It does happen after fonts are cached, so I'm not sure where it would be logged or even IF it would be logged.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 07:01:26 am by retired1af »
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 12:45:24 pm »
open a console and type:

dmesg | less

Now you can use the arrow keys for up or down.

Bigpaws

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2010, 03:02:21 pm »
That's just it. It's not appearing in ANY of the logs. **scratching head**
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2010, 04:18:40 pm »
Have you looked at .xsession-errors, /var/log/Xorg.O.log?

Bigpaws

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2010, 05:01:12 pm »
The error occurs after fonts are cached and before vcpufreq.gambas is called from rc.local. I've checked every error log in /var/log and it's not showing up. **banging head on desk**
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4073
Re: Touchpad issue?
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2010, 03:31:40 am »
How about aiming a video camera at the screen? Examine the video to see if you can capture the messages.