VectorLinux
November 26, 2014, 06:45:34 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Touchpad issue?  (Read 1104 times)
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« on: August 25, 2010, 06:00:48 am »

This one's been driving me nuts for a few weeks now, but I'll be damned if I can trace the issue down as there's absolutely nothing in the logs.

On boot, towards the end of the boot process (right before it goes into runlevel 4), there's an apparent error. It appears after cron, and I see a list of what looks to be touchpad types. At the end of that list, I get a FAILED error and it boots into X. There's nothing in the logs, and I'd like to get rid of that list as well as figuring out what in tarnation is failing.

Suggestions?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 05:23:58 pm by retired1af » Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 06:12:15 am »

Does the touchpad work at all?
Logged

retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 06:20:50 am »

Yep. It does. One of the first things I did upon installing SOHO 6 final, was toss a script into Autostart that turns the #@$)(*&@# thing off. I'm wondering if it has something to do with Fuse?
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 06:35:49 am »

and you can't see the errors in /var/log/boot? or take a snapshot somehow to see what it says? even a picture of the monitor if you need to
Logged

retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 06:59:54 am »

Scrolls too fast to read what kicks off the scrolling screen. Everything appears to be working. It's just one of those "OCD" things where I want to know what's causing the list and the failure tag. It does happen after fonts are cached, so I'm not sure where it would be logged or even IF it would be logged.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 07:01:26 am by retired1af » Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 12:45:24 pm »

open a console and type:

dmesg | less

Now you can use the arrow keys for up or down.

Bigpaws
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2010, 03:02:21 pm »

That's just it. It's not appearing in ANY of the logs. **scratching head**
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2010, 04:18:40 pm »

Have you looked at .xsession-errors, /var/log/Xorg.O.log?

Bigpaws
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2010, 05:01:12 pm »

The error occurs after fonts are cached and before vcpufreq.gambas is called from rc.local. I've checked every error log in /var/log and it's not showing up. **banging head on desk**
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4030



« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2010, 03:31:40 am »

How about aiming a video camera at the screen? Examine the video to see if you can capture the messages.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!