VectorLinux
October 31, 2014, 06:02:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Auto mount /sda3  (Read 1088 times)
Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« on: September 17, 2010, 05:51:29 am »

Hi. N00B here. I have years of Deb experience.
I just installed 6.0 Gold. NICE.Codects and printing out of the box ! That's a first !
When it asked me about partitioning I said " use existing partitions.
My rig is
/sda1  swap  2.5 gb
/sda2  /        10 gb   reiserfs
/sda3/Home    137 gb   ext3
All went well but Home wound up default on sda2.
/sda3 is listed but "not mounted"

I need Home on sda3 and auto mount at boot.
A quck direction would be appreciated.
Pura Vida !
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3187



« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2010, 06:01:33 am »

Add a line in /etc/fstab right after your line for "/" like this
Code:
/dev/sda3          /home          ext3          defaults     0     0
Logged

Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2010, 06:36:24 am »

That was quick !
It didn't seem to work tho.
Heres the edited file.

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
#The following is an example.Please see fstab(5) for further details.
#Please refer to mount(1) for a complete description OF mount options.
#
#Format:
# < file system > < mount point > < type > < options > < dump > < pass >
#
#dump(8)uses the < dump > field to determine which file systems need
# to be dumped.fsck(8)uses the < pass > column TO determine which file
#systems need TO be checked - - the root file system should have a 1 in
#this field, other file systems a 2, AND any file systems that should
#not be checked(such AS MS - initrd / mnt OR NFS file systems)a 0.


#The Linux partitions


/dev/sda2          /     reiserfs     defaults 0 1
/dev/sda3          /home          ext3          defaults     0     0



# Shared Windows/Linux partition#/dev/hda1   /mnt/dos  msdos  umask=0   0  0
#/dev/hda1   /mnt/win  vfat   fmask=111,dmask=0,quiet,shortname=mixed,user  0  0
#/dev/hda1   /mnt/win  ntfs   umask=0   0  0


# Floppy disks
# The 'noauto' option indicates that the file system should not be mounted
# with 'mount -a' 'user' indicates that normal users are allowed to mount
# the file system.
/dev/fd0   /mnt/floppy  auto  defaults,noauto,user  0 0
#/dev/fd1  /mnt/floppy  auto  defaults,noauto,user  0 0

# If you have a ls-120 floppy drive, it could be on /dev/hda b c d etc.
#/dev/hdd  /mnt/ls120  auto  defaults,noauto,user  0 0

# CDROM, CDWRITER, DVD
/dev/cdrom    /media/cdrom  iso9660  defaults,noauto,ro,user  0 0
#/dev/cdwriter /media/cdwriter  iso9660  defaults,noauto,rw,user  0 0
#/dev/dvd      /media/dvd   auto  defaults,noauto,ro,user  0 0

# NFS file systems:
#linux01.gwdg.de:/suse/6.3/i386.de  /mnt/nfs  nfs  defaults  0 0

# proc file system:
proc  /proc  proc  defaults  0 0

# Unix98 devpts filesystem:
none  /dev/pts  devpts  gid=5,mode=666  0 0

# Shared memory filesystem:
tmpfs   /dev/shm    tmpfs defaults 0  0

# Basic USB filesystem
sysfs  /sys  sysfs  defaults  0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw,devmode=0666 0 0

# example of a VFAT USB pendrive
#/dev/sda1  /mnt/pendrive vfat   fmask=111,dmask=0,noauto,user,quiet,shortname=mixed 0 0

# Swap partitions
# The 'sw' option means auto activating with 'swapon -a'.

/dev/sda1 none swap sw 0 0

shm            /dev/shm     tmpfs  defaults        0     0

/dev/hda1   /mnt/dev/hda3    defaults 0 0
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3187



« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2010, 06:40:22 am »

You do know you need to reboot for this to take effect right?

and if I were you, I'd rename my current /home directory to something else before rebooting too... just to make sure you dont lose any data or config files in it.

After the reboot, copy everything from the existing home to the new home using
Code:
cp -arxpv <old_home/*.*> /home/
Logged

Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2010, 07:23:54 am »

Hmmmmmmm. Tried that. No go.
Down in devices I still get not mounted and trying to mount from the terminal I get this

You are working as doug
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
localuser:root being added to access control list
Vector:/~
doug:$ mount dev/hda3
[mntent]: line 20 in /etc/fstab is bad
mount: can't find dev/hda3 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
Vector:/~
doug:$

Yeah. It's listed as hda3 so I changed that in fstab too.
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3187



« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2010, 08:28:04 am »

it is "/dev/hda3" not "dev/hda3"

And show me the output of your command
Code:
cat /proc/partitions

You also keep writing /dev/hda1 is your /, but according to your fstab, it is /dev/sda1...
Logged

Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2010, 09:45:23 am »

OK. I tweaked it a little and have it mounting on bootup, made a link to the desktop but now.....PERMISSIONS Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Can't write to the thing.
Here's my output that you asked for.

Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
File manager   : mc (press F2 for useful menu)
Editor         : mcedit, nano, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
localuser:root being added to access control list
Vector:/~
doug:$ cat /proc/partitions
major minor  #blocks  name

   8     0  156290904 sda
   8     1    2046976 sda1
   8     2    9855877 sda2
   8     3  134146048 sda3
   8    80  117220824 sdf
   8    81          1 sdf1
   8    82  116198145 sdf2
Vector:/~
doug:$
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3187



« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2010, 09:59:08 am »

That's why I asked you to rename the existing /home directory so that the stuff wouldn't get overwritten.
What you need to do is as root copy the contents of the old /home directory to the top of the new /home partition, after that it's business as usual.
Logged

Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2010, 10:14:42 am »

That's why I asked you to rename the existing /home directory so that the stuff wouldn't get overwritten.
What you need to do is as root copy the contents of the old /home directory to the top of the new /home partition, after that it's business as usual.
I appreciate it. I'm copying all of my crap over now from an external.
Now I can sit down and play with this system and see what it's all about. It's definately quick and uses little CPU's but I installed it very lean.
Thanks a bunch !
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!