VectorLinux
September 01, 2014, 10:44:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No sound in VL 6.0 lite  (Read 1145 times)
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« on: September 27, 2010, 07:23:54 am »

 Just re-installed VL on a PC that I used before to run Vector. For some reason I don't have any sound now, even though it worked previously. When I click on sound mixer, nothing happens. I've tried running alsconf from VASM, but nothing happens. I don't know what I've done (or perhaps not done) to break it. I can't even get "Silent Night." 
 Should I learn sign language?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 08:28:29 am »

Try "alsamixer" in a terminal window. Play with the controls, select with right/left arrows, adjust with up/down arrows, mute/unmute with "m".
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 11:21:16 am »

 Mr. Terminal says.."Sorry.."
 alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory
Logged
Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 03:07:43 pm »

open GSLAPT and sarch alsa ,load the alsa goodies for Vector........vl apps.
Here is what you should have
Logged

pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 05:53:51 pm »

 I know I chacked Gslapt and a ton of alsa was checked, as already on-board. But I'll look again. Maybe something needs to be uninstalled and re-installed. Perhaps even my entire VL 6.0 lite?
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2010, 06:18:44 pm »

 Yep, Gslapt shows all files present and accounted for. lspci is interesting. If I read this correctly, I don't have any sound card, as far as the system sees it.!
 
Code:
root:# lspci -tv
-[0000:00]-+-00.0  Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE DRAM Controlle
r/Host-Hub Interface
           +-02.0  Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrate
d Graphics Device
           +-1d.0  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UH
CI Controller #1
           +-1d.1  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UH
CI Controller #2
           +-1d.2  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UH
CI Controller #3
           +-1d.7  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Control
ler
           +-1e.0-[0000:01]----0c.0  Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/81
39C/8139C+
           +-1f.0  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Bri
dge
           +-1f.1  Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller
           +-1f.3  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus
Controller
           \-1f.5  Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97
Audio Controller

Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2010, 06:23:18 pm »

 Cancel that last post. Was reading a guide that suggested lspci -tv. Decided to try just lspci, and the sound card is listed. Sorry.
 
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 82)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2010, 07:04:59 pm »

By any chance do you have anything plugged in that may be being detected as a sound device...like a usb webcam?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2010, 07:13:30 pm »

The lspci for my Dell Inspiron is almost exactly the same as yours. My sound (same as yours) works fine. I don't know what to tell you. I never did anything special, just ran vasm.

I don't know what files we could compare. Maybe someone else knows what they might be.

Do you get sound from headphones or external speakers? I suspect not, based on the error message you've gotten.

I should mention that I'm using kernel 2.6.31.8. You could try upgrading your kernel if all else fails. Directions are in the how-to section.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2010, 03:19:50 am »

Try running the live version of VL Light and see if sound works. If it does I would suspect some kind of installation error and recommend a re-install. If not, there may be a hardware problem.
Logged
pottzie
Member
*
Posts: 94


« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2010, 01:28:18 pm »

 That did it. Tried the live cd, sound worked OK, reinstalled. All's well.
Logged
Murdock
Member
*
Posts: 76


WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2010, 06:12:31 pm »

Cool, strange, but cool/
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!