Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: access windows area of HD in dual boot machine  (Read 2413 times)

alvey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
access windows area of HD in dual boot machine
« on: December 08, 2010, 01:49:10 pm »
Hi I am a newbie to VL.  In other flavours of Linux that I have used, I can use the file manager to access files in the windows partition of the hard drive on a dual boot machine.  I cannot see this area (NTFS) on VL.  I guess I have to mount the windows drive (sda I think), but I don't know how to do this.  Can anyone help please?

Regards     alvey

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: access windows area of HD in dual boot machine
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2010, 06:14:17 pm »
Please tell us what version of VL you are using. Do you know if you selected vl-hot or HAL on install?

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: access windows area of HD in dual boot machine
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2010, 07:17:34 pm »
Hi I am a newbie to VL.  In other flavours of Linux that I have used, I can use the file manager to access files in the windows partition of the hard drive on a dual boot machine.  I cannot see this area (NTFS) on VL.  I guess I have to mount the windows drive (sda I think), but I don't know how to do this.  Can anyone help please?

Did you run VASM to mount the drive?
VASM>>SUPER>>FILESYSTEM>>MOUNT>>ADD

Find your NTFS partition and go through the steps. Finish with FILESYSTEM>>MOUNT>>MOUNT to have the partition mounted when you quit VASM.

If  this doesn't work, post again and tell us what happens.
--GrannyGeek
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

alvey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: access windows area of HD in dual boot machine
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2010, 02:52:27 am »
Thank you Granygeek, Nightflier.  I used VASM to mount the sd1 drive, and can now see the files.
Cheers.   
      Alvey