VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 05:54:24 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: access windows area of HD in dual boot machine  (Read 2139 times)
alvey
Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: December 08, 2010, 01:49:10 pm »

Hi I am a newbie to VL.  In other flavours of Linux that I have used, I can use the file manager to access files in the windows partition of the hard drive on a dual boot machine.  I cannot see this area (NTFS) on VL.  I guess I have to mount the windows drive (sda I think), but I don't know how to do this.  Can anyone help please?

Regards     alvey
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2010, 06:14:17 pm »

Please tell us what version of VL you are using. Do you know if you selected vl-hot or HAL on install?
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2010, 07:17:34 pm »

Hi I am a newbie to VL.  In other flavours of Linux that I have used, I can use the file manager to access files in the windows partition of the hard drive on a dual boot machine.  I cannot see this area (NTFS) on VL.  I guess I have to mount the windows drive (sda I think), but I don't know how to do this.  Can anyone help please?

Did you run VASM to mount the drive?
VASM>>SUPER>>FILESYSTEM>>MOUNT>>ADD

Find your NTFS partition and go through the steps. Finish with FILESYSTEM>>MOUNT>>MOUNT to have the partition mounted when you quit VASM.

If  this doesn't work, post again and tell us what happens.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
alvey
Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2010, 02:52:27 am »

Thank you Granygeek, Nightflier.  I used VASM to mount the sd1 drive, and can now see the files.
Cheers.   
      Alvey
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!